Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
nabril
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:59 am

Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by nabril » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:03 am

Hello all
New to forum and ooma. I want to scream goodbye to ATT for my local service, and ooma seems to be the clear winner over Vonage and magicjack.

My questions are:
1) I have an alarm system. As I am not the original buyer of this townhouse, I do not know how it is wired. I assume that the alarm panel goes directly to the telco box outside my front door. Regardless. Is there a way for me to make it work through ooma?

2) Obviously Telo looks better, nicer, more modern than the Hub. But if I read correctly in some amazon reviews, the telo forces you to the premier membership. Since the pricing information on the ooma page is non-existent, I ask existing (or recent new) users---what is the monthly cost to have ooma? Whether it's the hub or Telo? I know there are fees and taxes--what are they?

Thanks a lot

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by Groundhound » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:33 am

nabril wrote:Hello all
New to forum and ooma. I want to scream goodbye to ATT for my local service, and ooma seems to be the clear winner over Vonage and magicjack.

My questions are:
1) I have an alarm system. As I am not the original buyer of this townhouse, I do not know how it is wired. I assume that the alarm panel goes directly to the telco box outside my front door. Regardless. Is there a way for me to make it work through ooma?

2) Obviously Telo looks better, nicer, more modern than the Hub. But if I read correctly in some amazon reviews, the telo forces you to the premier membership. Since the pricing information on the ooma page is non-existent, I ask existing (or recent new) users---what is the monthly cost to have ooma? Whether it's the hub or Telo? I know there are fees and taxes--what are they?

Thanks a lot
1. Depends. If yours is the type that disconnects all extensions in the home before it dials out there may be a problem. Also, you will likely need to modify the outbound number it calls to include *99pause as a prefix.

2. Telo doesn't force you to Premier, but the non-Premier, no-monthly-cost basic service lacks voicemail & callerID-Name. You can add VM to the basic service for $4.99 per month, but if you want all the bells and whistles you need Premier for $9.99 per month.

nabril
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:59 am

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by nabril » Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:35 am

thanks groundhound.
how can I verify if alarm disconnects all?

not interested in bells and w. Just voicemail and call waiting.
what about fees and taxes?

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by Groundhound » Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:52 am

nabril wrote:thanks groundhound.
how can I verify if alarm disconnects all?

not interested in bells and w. Just voicemail and call waiting.
what about fees and taxes?
You'd need to research your alarm info for how it phones out.
Call waiting is included with the Telo basic service, adding voicemail to the basic service costs $4.99/month or $49.99/year.
Last edited by Groundhound on Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by Groundhound » Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:54 am

The best deal if you don't want Premier is to buy a hub (Ooma Core) now and voicemail is free.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by southsound » Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:08 pm

Groundhound wrote:
nabril wrote: 1) I have an alarm system. As I am not the original buyer of this townhouse, I do not know how it is wired. I assume that the alarm panel goes directly to the telco box outside my front door. Regardless. Is there a way for me to make it work through ooma?
1. Depends. If yours is the type that disconnects all extensions in the home before it dials out there may be a problem. Also, you will likely need to modify the outbound number it calls to include *99pause as a prefix.
Actually there is no rocket science to wiring an alarm so that it disconnects the phones during an alert state. The connection is made through an RJ31X jack and I'll bet if you system was commercially installed, it is part of the system. The jack has 4 connections - R (ring) and T (tip) are the input wires from the telco demarcation box. R1 and T1 go to the house wiring. As long as you supply dialtone to the R and T terminals of that jack you will be fine. If not, you risk having a a problem if you are on the phone (or someone tries to busy the line from inside the house) as the alarm is trying to report.

In addition to the *99pause, you may need to have the monitoring company add a command to dial using touchtones (DTMF) as some older systems were configured to use pulse dialing.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

nabril
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:59 am

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by nabril » Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:31 am

thank you southsound, and groundhound.. The answers abound !!

So how the alarm actually get connected to ooma once ooma is up and running? The alarm panel is in the closet upstairs, and the ooma hub will be downstairs in the kitchen. The alarm has to connect to the hub or a scout, right?

What about those fees and taxes? Come on users, share them. I read in an amazon review that there are some fees that are not mentioned anywhere in the ooma page; thus not making it totally free. It is still cheaper than ATT sure, but I just want to know what they are upfront, that is all.

thanks again

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by tommies » Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:53 am

For those of us, who is already on board, there is no fee/tax. For those, who signs up on Oct 1st or later, there is an annual fee starting in year two:
For new Ooma customers, here are highlights of our new Terms and Conditions:
  • 5,000 total minutes per month of residential domestic calling
  • Ooma Premier monthly subscriptions are $9.99/month
  • Ooma Premier annual subscriptions are $119.99/year. This now includes either one free number port ($39.99 value) or a free Ooma Telo Handset ($49.99 value)
  • $11.75/year Regulatory Recovery Fee in Years 2 and beyond to cover taxes, regulatory fees and other costs
  • Voicemail is now bundled with Ooma Premier
  • 60-days of free Ooma Care telephone support. Thereafter, non-Premier customers receive free email support and may purchase Ooma Care telephone support for $39.99/year
tommies

nabril
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:59 am

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by nabril » Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:02 am

thank you tommies.
But i dont HAVE TO get Premier, correct? If so, it's just 11.75 for years 2 and after.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Contemplating the switch to Ooma but lots of doubt

Post by murphy » Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:04 am

nabril wrote:thank you tommies.
But i dont HAVE TO get Premier, correct? If so, it's just 11.75 for years 2 and after.
Correct. You don't have to buy Premier if you don't need it.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply