Scout as an answering machine

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
blackpippi
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:30 am

Scout as an answering machine

Post by blackpippi » Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:53 am

I want to use my scout as an answering machine. Currently, I have the Ooma hub in a room far away and it's a bit of a trek to look for the red blinking message light.
My scout is still in the box. Can I just plug it into an active telephone jack in another room or do I have to register it first and select a second number and all that?
I have the Premier service, no landline, hooked up to DSL.

zerocoolmz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Scout as an answering machine

Post by zerocoolmz » Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:02 am

just hook up the scout to the wall jack and give it power. it will boot up and then you should be good to go. I have cordles phones in my house so i don't have a phone plugged into the scout but it sould still show when you have a voicemail as though it was a hub

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Scout as an answering machine

Post by southsound » Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:12 am

You could certainly use your scout as a voicemail terminal - many here do, some without even plugging a phone into it. But you stated that you have DSL and that does present an additional issue. The scount and hub communicate using HPNA, a networking protocol over telephone wires. The problem is that DSL and HPNA signals do not play nice together. You will want to connect the hub's wall port and the scout's wall port using a "clean" pair of wires. Typically there are several pairs of wires in your telephone cable. Choose an unused pair (white/orange or white/green) and connect the ooma devices to them. If you have more questions, feel free to post them here.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply