Ooma Hub and ComSwitch 5500

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
gtdurham
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm

Ooma Hub and ComSwitch 5500

Post by gtdurham » Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:58 pm

Will the ooma hub work with the ComSwitch 5500? This is a box that take the call and determines with it's a fax or a normal phone call. If it's a fax, it sends it to the fax machine without the phone even ringing. If it's a normal call, the phone rings. I'm having a problem with the Voice Mail not picking up and wondering if this is the problem.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Hub and ComSwitch 5500

Post by murphy » Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:23 pm

Once the comswitch answers the call to see if it is an incoming fax, voice mail is out of the picture. As far as ooma is concerned you answered the call.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

gtdurham
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:54 pm

Re: Ooma Hub and ComSwitch 5500

Post by gtdurham » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:54 pm

Thank for the insight. I can then use the answering machine that I was using previously and still get the faxes directed to the fax machine.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma Hub and ComSwitch 5500

Post by southsound » Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:32 pm

gtdurham wrote: I can then use the answering machine that I was using previously and still get the faxes directed to the fax machine.
The only issue you will have is that of remote retrieval. The ooma hub does not pass incoming DTMF - so if your answering machine offers you the option of picking up messages from an outside line, it will never hear the tones that tell it that you are calling and you want it to go into playback mode.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply