What if integrated landline goes down?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
lesag002
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:59 am

What if integrated landline goes down?

Post by lesag002 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:44 am

Sorry if this is covered in the ooma documentation. Guess I'm too lazy to look for the answer myself (although I guess posting is another way of looking for the answer eh?). I figure this is an easy one anyway...

Right now my landline is integrated with the ooma. What if a bad storm blows a tree down that takes down our phone line with it? If we haven't lost our cable/internet, I should still be able to make calls with ooma via the internet right?

Thanks

bryanlyle
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: What if integrated landline goes down?

Post by bryanlyle » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:59 am

lesag002 wrote:Sorry if this is covered in the ooma documentation. Guess I'm too lazy to look for the answer myself (although I guess posting is another way of looking for the answer eh?). I figure this is an easy one anyway...

Right now my landline is integrated with the ooma. What if a bad storm blows a tree down that takes down our phone line with it? If we haven't lost our cable/internet, I should still be able to make calls with ooma via the internet right?

Thanks
I think if the landline goes down, Ooma goes down.
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: What if integrated landline goes down?

Post by niknak » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:37 am

...I think if the landline goes down, Ooma goes down...
I think that's correct because the landline is integrated with the hub

If the hub were assigned it's own number and the internet was up, ooma would be up

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: What if integrated landline goes down?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:34 am

Yep, if the landline goes down ooma goes down. The chances are greater of a network issue than a landline issue, though.
With my experience with cable (in the past) I'd worry about the cable over the landline!

However, I have a landline separate from the ooma hub. If ooma goes down, my landline is just a wall jack away. If my landline goes down I'm totally out of luck because I have DSL. (unless the dsl portion stays up)


I can count the number of times my land line went down totally in 25 years on one hand. Cable was a whole different story....

Wayne

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: What if integrated landline goes down?

Post by southsound » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:47 am

Given the advantages and disadvantages of integrating your landline with the hub, some of us (like Wayne) have chosen to keep our landline separate. I still need to have a landline until next May or so to get the great pricing I have on my Qwest DSL - but I get some other advantages too. I get a second number (actually by only ooma number) without needing to subscribe to Premier, I still have a backup in case my Internet goes down, and (in time) I can reduce my landline to the most basic plan - no provisioning required. I use Google Voice as a front end for our phones so if there is a problem with either ooma or the landline, callers still dial the same number. Last month a squirrel chewed through the fiber cable that fed voice to our island. It was 5 days before all was well again but callers didn't have a clue as they still dialed the same number. I just changed where GV forwarded the calls. If I had integrated my landline I would have been without service for those days.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply