Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
dainanwok
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:25 pm

Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by dainanwok » Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:29 pm

I chose the option port my existing phone# to Ooma while activating it. But then, I didn't realize I'll be moving in 2 weeks, so I won't have enough time since the porting process will take a few weeks.

I now just want to pick a new number instead. Is there anyway to 'reset' it?

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by niknak » Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:31 am

...I now just want to pick a new number instead. Is there anyway to 'reset' it?...
You can do this, but you must call ooma customer service and they will provision your hub to work with a new number...there is no way to do this without calling

mc674
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by mc674 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 5:01 am

I have a similar question. I asked to port my number (since it is going dead with AT&T Callvantage very soon) and then couldn't get the unit to work yet. Is it possible for me to choose a new number, get my unit working, and still preserve my number transfer?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by murphy » Mon Sep 14, 2009 5:23 am

mc674 wrote:I have a similar question. I asked to port my number (since it is going dead with AT&T Callvantage very soon) and then couldn't get the unit to work yet. Is it possible for me to choose a new number, get my unit working, and still preserve my number transfer?
Yes, that's exactly what I did.
I selected to use ooma without a land line. I selected a temporary number in my area code. When the port was complete, the ported number replaced the temporary number.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

dainanwok
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:25 pm

Re: Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by dainanwok » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:40 am

I got my new number after calling Omma and now the hub is up and running. I can make and receive phone calls, but Internet doesn't work when I connect Ooma to my wireless router. Anyone has any idea?

PS: I have no problem when my laptop connects directlyto the hub.

Update:
Problem solved. Simply turned off all the devices and power them in this order: Modem>Hub>Router. Now, I'm going to disconnect my landline.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Chose the wrong option. What to do?

Post by murphy » Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:39 am

If you are going to port your land line number, do not cancel land line service. If you do cancel, you will lose the number. When the port is complete, the land line account will be automatically canceled.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply