Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
disilluzion
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:59 pm

Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by disilluzion » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:26 pm

Greetings,

I have an Actiontec DSL modem/wireless router that allows me to stream media to Xbox 360 and other wireless devices. When I add the Ooma hub to the equation I cannot. My wireless devices can still access the internet; they just cannot see my shared files.

From the Ooma hub I have HOME going to my PC and MODEM going to the modem. My modem only has one ethernet port and I have spare routers lying around but I don't want to add more hardware if I do not have to.

The only thing I have tried (by using the search function) is adding my Ooma IP address to the DMZ address on the Ooma setup page, but that did not work.

Any helpful advice would be appreciated.

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:31 pm

Ok, it sounds like you have your Modem/Router>Ooma>Computer, correct? The reason you can't see the shared resources is because the computer behind Ooma will be on a different subnet then the Modem/Router. Does your Modem/Router have more than one LAN port? If not, I'd suggest a switch (about $20) so you can do the following Modem/Router>Switch>Computer and Switch>Ooma.
Go AVS!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:41 pm

I would second that opinion. It would fix all your issues and give you some extra ports.

Wayne

disilluzion
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:59 pm

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by disilluzion » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:47 pm

I'm not sure if it's "behind" or "ahead" of the modem because it takes priority over the wired connection to my pc, but obviously will not slow down any wireless connections for QoS.

And there is only one ethernet port. When I first got Ooma I was lazy and had it connected modem > separate router > Ooma hub. But now I moved and want to set it up the way the manual shows. I'm in a rural area and can only get 1.5 Mbps.

Is there any way to change the IP address of the Ooma hub so it is on my network, or is it stuck with the 172.27.x.x? Or is my only option to connect my router, therefore not being able to benefit from QoS?

I really don't need any more wired ports than the one.

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:54 pm

If you want to use Ooma's Qos then do the following...

Modem>Ooma>Wireless Router?>Computer

Then log into setup.ooma.com and go to the advanced page. Here put in the same IP address in the start and end DHCP fields (eg. 172.27.35.10) and also put this same IP in the DMZ field. Also you'll want to put your actual tested ISP speeds in the upstream and downstream fields of the Qos section.

Now let your wireless router? (assuming it is wireless) do all your LAN functions. In this configuration you'll want your Modem in bridge mode if at all possible or you'll be doing tripple NAT.
Go AVS!

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:00 pm

disilluzion wrote:When I first got Ooma I was lazy and had it connected modem > separate router > Ooma hub. But now I moved and want to set it up the way the manual shows. I'm in a rural area and can only get 1.5 Mbps.
If your router has decent Qos, many (if not most) prefer this setup.
Go AVS!

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by murphy » Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:53 am

Unfortunately he has a combination modem/wireless router. The only solution that will work in that environment is to add a switch to provide more than one LAN port to the modem/wireless router.

Or if the wireless in the modem/wireless router can be turned off, then a standard wireless router could be connected to provide all of the services.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

disilluzion
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:59 pm

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by disilluzion » Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:49 am

I can disable the wireless on my modem/router, but it works better than my other wireless routers (strength, reliability, etc.), so can I go modem > 2nd router > Ooma and have the 2nd router's wireless disabled or would that cause network conflicts? Is my best bet to go to Best Buy today and get the cheapest switch they have, then go modem > switch > pc/Ooma/whatever else?

Thx

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by murphy » Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:47 am

The latter is your best bet.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

disilluzion
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:59 pm

Re: Need help streaming media to Xbox 360

Post by disilluzion » Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:57 am

And just make sure it's a switch and not a hub and I should be golden, correct?

Post Reply