Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#17706 by FrequentFlyer
Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:36 pm
OK, newbie here, first post, so be gentle!

Bought ooma to ditch the land line altogether. Activated Hub yesterday. During process, no local (our town) number available. Either town an hour away (smaller town, BTW) or slightly larger town 45 minutes away. Chose the latter. Ignored land line as my intent is to drop it.

Some have probably guessed where this is heading. Everything - Hub, Scout - works great. BUT: local friends have to dial long distance to call us - from as little as 10 blocks away. She Who Must Be Obeyed not happy.

Called ooma support, sympathetic, but no dice. Confirmed that no local numbers are available.

Called phone company, said there's a basic, basic, no long distance, unlimited local plan available - $17.50 plus taxes. I could use that as our regular phone number, all incoming calls - YES??? - and use ooma for long distance.

Not the $60 per month savings I was planning on. After taxes on cheapie plan, more like $35 per month.

Do I need to have caller ID on my phone plan?

Also, let's assume I go down this path... how on earth do I add the land line, now that I indicated that I wasn't going to use it when I set up the hub?

I assume I have to call Tech Support at ooma and have them walk me through things...

Is there any alternative to this? How often does ooma add phone numbers?

If they DO eventually add numbers for my town, can I at that point ditch the land line and go totally with ooma - and somehow switch the number??

Sorry for all the questions, but need some advice/help. Thanks!!
#17707 by WayneDsr
Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:39 pm
Have you tried Google Voice? You can sign up for Google Voice and maybe you'll be lucky this time and get a local number.

The service is free and you can forward your google number to any phone, including ooma.

Just a thought.

Wayne
Oh and by the way, welcome to the forum!