Buying a used ooma hub

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
mcbleu
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:01 am

Buying a used ooma hub

Post by mcbleu » Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:24 pm

is there any thing special to know about buying a used ooma hub ?
Will I be able to update, change the 1st owner information ?
anyone has done that before ?

Thank you

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by niknak » Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:32 pm

mcbleu wrote:is there any thing special to know about buying a used ooma hub ?
Will I be able to update, change the 1st owner information ?
anyone has done that before ?

Thank you
the previous owner would have to contact ooma to give permission to turn it over to you

t4feb
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:00 am
Location: Aiken,SC
Contact:

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by t4feb » Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:46 am

mcbleu wrote:is there any thing special to know about buying a used ooma hub ?
Will I be able to update, change the 1st owner information ?
anyone has done that before ?

Thank you
Its more trouble then its worth.
Just buy a new one.
I went through this buying 2 systems that were used and ended up sending them back because ooma told me there was nothing they could do unless the owner contacted them to turn the systems over to me. Lot of problems buying used. Hope this helps
Terry

RN09
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by RN09 » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:46 am

I bought ooma system from Costco and only used the hub, no need for scout. It is still in the un-open box Thinking of selling it over ebay or craiglist.

I know buying the used hub will be headache but is it the same as buying a scount?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:50 am

No, I bought a Scout from Ebay with great results.

Wayne

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:53 am

And, back to topic, there should be no problem with buying a used hub as long as you know the previous owner, or at least know he will contact ooma and permit exchange. I believe a transfer fee ($25 comes to mind) is part of the deal.

Once the hub is connected it will auto update.

Wayne

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by southsound » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:54 am

Not at all. Many who buy the package and choose not to use the scout have lowered their costs doing this. Although there is a harware address built in to the scout I don't believe most scouts for sale online have ever been used. Be aware though that you won't get as much for the scout as you might expect. I've seen them going for $25 to $35 while a new one from ooma costs $69. I haven't used mine yet but I am keeping it because I may just put it in the kitchen to use as a remote for the answering function. YMMV.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

mcbleu
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:01 am

Re: Buying a used ooma hub

Post by mcbleu » Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:03 am

I will ask the buyer to turn the account to me before I buy the ooma hub
Will let you know how it work
Isince she is selling the whole ooma hub + scoot for only $ 100
I thought it was worth it

Thank you for all the information

Post Reply