New user question

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Damager
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:40 pm

New user question

Post by Damager » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:43 pm

Just bought Ooma - coming from Comcast Phone. I've tested connecting the Ooma Phone port to the house to drive all the house jacks - works just fine.

On the Comcast system, we could pick up any phone handset in the house, and dial "*99" to check our vmail. I read the Users Guide for Ooma, and I think it said to dial our full phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) in order to check vmail.

Isn't there a shortcut to check vmail inside the house, instead of dialing the full phone number?

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: New user question

Post by Groundhound » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:46 pm

Sure, press the play button on the hub. BTW, welcome to Ooma!

Damager
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: New user question

Post by Damager » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:48 pm

Thanks Groundhound.

Since the Comcast vmail could be checked from any handset, I'd like to do the same with Ooma - is there a way check vmail without dialing the full number from any handset?

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: New user question

Post by Groundhound » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:51 pm

I don't think so at this time. As a work-around, some handsets have speed dial features that could be used for this.

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: New user question

Post by dtalwar » Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:58 am

Groundhound is right ... there is currently no way to check the voicemail from a handset without dialing the full number. Of course, again as Groundhoud suggests, you can use the speed-dial feature if your handset has one.

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: New user question

Post by but2002 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:01 am

By "full" number

You don't need to dial area code, just (123-4567)
(If that were your phone number, of course)

Then when the call connects, press 1, and you're checking your voicemail

Damager
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: New user question

Post by Damager » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:27 am

Thanks for the responses. One more question - on our Comcast service when we picked up the phone, we'd get a different sounding dial tone to let us know there were messages - does Ooma do something like that? If you aren't in the same room as the Ooma, how do you know you have a message?

User avatar
StevenJohn
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: East Tennessee

Re: New user question

Post by StevenJohn » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:40 am

I use the Panasonic DECT 6.0 phones. They show a Voice Mail message on the display and, if on the charger, the light blinks. Other than that, I guess you would have to look at the scout, hub, email, or call your number.

sj

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: New user question

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:41 am

My Panasonic phone has a voicemail indicator on the screen also.

Wayne

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: New user question

Post by niknak » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:29 pm

...on our Comcast service when we picked up the phone, we'd get a different sounding dial tone to let us know there were messages - does Ooma do something like that?...
Ooma does not use any kind of "stutter" tone for VM notifications

Post Reply