Existing VoIP plugged into Ooma as "Landline"

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
randyth
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:09 pm

Existing VoIP plugged into Ooma as "Landline"

Post by randyth » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:24 pm

I'm planning on helping my mother transition from Comcast VoIP to Ooma. Because I plan to keep her Comcast VoIP telephone line active until the phone number is ported over, can I simply treat the Comcast line (which comes right out of Comcast's combination cable modem / VoIP box) as I would any landline and plug it into the Ooma so the calls go through the Ooma?

I assume this would work, but there just seems like something wrong with running VoIP calls through another VoIP box -- like it might rip a hole in the fabric of time and space.

-Randy

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Existing VoIP plugged into Ooma as "Landline"

Post by southsound » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:43 pm

randyth wrote:I assume this would work, but there just seems like something wrong with running VoIP calls through another VoIP box -- like it might rip a hole in the fabric of time and space.

-Randy
I have always worried about that same issue. I'm not aware of how thick the fabric is, but I'm sure duct tape would not fix it. :razz:

I would recommend keeping the two systems separate. You could get her using the ooma right away by plugging her cordless phone base or other phone into the phone port on the ooma hub. Then forward her existing Comcast number to the temporary ooma number. Things will be very clean that way and she will get used to the ooma dialtone and features. I'm sure she will love the ooma experience - but if you can make it transparent in this way I think there is less chance of having a problem. Congratulations on doing the right thing for Mom! If she's anything like my Mom (now with the Lord in Glory), I'll bet she makes great sticky buns. If so, I could forward my mailing address! :grin:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

randyth
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: Existing VoIP plugged into Ooma as "Landline"

Post by randyth » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:41 pm

Thanks, SouthSound.

I think I will do as you suggest and just keep the two systems separate. Seems safer that way, and requires less duct tape.

-Randy

Post Reply