Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
jnwelch01
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:55 am

Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by jnwelch01 » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:25 am

Using Vista (UUGH) on desktop with DSL, connected Ooma core per instructions, works great,wired internet works fine, wireless works fine, but I have lost home networking and file/printer sharing with my Macbook. At a total loss here, tried everything my feeble little mind can think of,,, HELPPP!

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by murphy » Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:59 am

Do not connect anything to the Home port of the ooma hub, only connect to the LAN ports of the modem/router. If you don't have enough LAN ports left after connecting the ooma hub to the modem/router, you will need to purchase a switch to expand the number of available LAN ports.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by tommies » Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:02 pm

jnwelch01 wrote:Using Vista (UUGH) on desktop with DSL, connected Ooma core per instructions, works great,wired internet works fine, wireless works fine, but I have lost home networking and file/printer sharing with my Macbook. At a total loss here, tried everything my feeble little mind can think of,,, HELPPP!
What is your setup [modem>ooma>router>pc's] or [modem>router>ooma+pc's]? A bit more detail about your LAN connection sure will be more helpful.

I use[modem>router>ooma+pc's] From my own experiences, I know ooma hub spoofs my pc MAC address for it MODEM port, and my pc was completely cut off from my LAN. Change ooma to use its own build in MAC address solves the problem for me. To do it, go to setup.ooma.com (172.27.5.1) and click on 'network' link.
tommies

jnwelch01
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by jnwelch01 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:09 am

thx for help guys, my setup, well it was per the book for a landline based dsl with a intergrated router/modem, but I did remove the cable from the home port on the Ooma as instructedand installed in my router, I just cannot get any network going here..

lizalewis
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:21 am

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by lizalewis » Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:04 am

I am having the same problem -when you read the OOMA specs it clearly states that the networking will be lost - somewhere on this board is the name of a switch that solves the problem - it adds a port to the modem (I have an integrated modem/router)

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by southsound » Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:30 am

I have Qwest DSL and use an Actiontec GT701-WG integrated modem/router with one wired port plus wireless. I just put the hub between my modem/router and a Netgear FS-108 switch. All computers, network storage, and my network printer connect to the FS-108. I use wireless only for my iPod Touch. I am able to print from any compute connected to the switch and the ooma hub is able to do QoS for my VOIP calling. The Netgear also comes in a 5 port version (FS-105) but I would caution against it because (from my experience) as soon as you buy it you will add something to your network and be out of ports. :cool:

Just to confirm: modem/router > ooma modem port
ooma home port > switch > all PC's, printer, net storage
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

lizalewis
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:21 am

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by lizalewis » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:31 pm

I decided after 6 months of not having printer sharing - I should try some suggestions - I went to my friendly Best Buy to buy a 4 port switch - they knew all about OOMA and said I needed a router - so I bought a 4 port router -
the setup is as follows - Motorola Surfboard to wan port on router - OOma cable to router - my wired computer to router -
Im back where I started - everything works but the network - I believe that is because the 2nd computer (laptop) is still connecting via the surfboard - when I put the ### in the laptop - it did a google search - I called OOMA CS they actually answered the phone - I gave them all the info except the city I was born in which is NYC - that wasn't good enough - I had to say the Bronx - so now Im ready to bring the gd thing back to Best Buy and tell them they are not as smart as they think :cry: - so any ideas - thanks

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by dtalwar » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:36 pm

You have essentially created two subnets by having two routers. The setup can technically work with a lot of careful configuration. But, for what you're trying to do, a 4-port switch is what you really needed.

Edited: Wait, I may have spoken too soon. Let me know which SURFboard do you have and I will try and help as much as I can.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by tommies » Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:09 pm

For an simple and easy to maintain LAN, I suggest that you put all of your pc's in the same sub net, ie connect them to the same router. Your laptop is obviously in different subnet from other pc. So as Dtalwar said, a switch is exactly what you need. A switch just adds a few more LAN port to your router, nothing more, nothing less.
tommies

lizalewis
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:21 am

Re: Integrated DSL wireless modem/router, lost network print

Post by lizalewis » Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:57 am

I have Motorola Surfboard SBG900 - even the new ones do not hav a 2nd port - thans for your help

Post Reply