Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#15172 by liane66
Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:14 pm
Hi I am just getting started and have not ported my number yet but:

1) Once my landline is gone (turned off) can I split the "out phone" from the ooma hub to a phone and the wall and get a dialtone on the other phones?

2) I did not connect the ooma hub "out home" and everything works fine. I have Verizon FIOS and when I connected the "out home" to my computer I could not connect to the Internet through the computer. Instead I leave the computer connected wired to the modem.router

Rob
#15394 by RickAnderson
Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:42 am
The condition of your phone wiring in the home will have an effect. I've lived in homes where I found phones wires connected simply by twisting them together and left bare in the ceiling. I had problems connecting multiple phones to the landline service in that home.

I now live in a home that has CAT5 wires, properly terminated at each end for the current phone wiring, I've tried the trick of connecting the "Phone" port on the Ooma to the wall jack, and I get a solid signal to all my phones plugged into the wall. I haven't worked with it much, since I'm waiting for old number to port over still; just have one phone on the Ooma until then, I'll probably switch over the whole house to Ooma once the porting is done.

If you're little more advanced than the average user, you may want to consider what I'm going to try. I'm going to connect the phone wiring to the whole house to the "Phone" port, to have Ooma at every phone port in the house. BUT, I'm going to also rig up a way to still use the scout at an port as well.