connection with existing voip line

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
valabhi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:04 pm

connection with existing voip line

Post by valabhi » Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:17 pm

I just activated Ooma with option to have new temp Tel# until
old tel #is ported. How do i connect ooma hub ( infront or back of
existing voip adapter sothat i can get incoming calls on old tel#?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: connection with existing voip line

Post by bw1 » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:18 am

valabhi wrote:I just activated Ooma with option to have new temp Tel# until
old tel #is ported. How do i connect ooma hub ( infront or back of
existing voip adapter sothat i can get incoming calls on old tel#?
Since you selected a new temporary number for Ooma, you won't be able to set it up to have incoming calls from the your existing number to ring phones connected to the Ooma except by call forwarding your existing number to your new number.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: connection with existing voip line

Post by scottlindner » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:22 am

You could call Ooma Support and ask them to integrate your landline. In this configuration, you will be required to connect your Ooma Hub Wall port to the existing VOIP line. With this configuration all calls will go to the phone connected to the Ooma Hub Phone port.

Scott

valabhi
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:04 pm

Re: connection with existing voip line

Post by valabhi » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:27 am

Can i change Activation online or need to wait for customer support?

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: connection with existing voip line

Post by scottlindner » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:37 am

Activation is a one shot deal. You need to call customer support to make further changes.

Post Reply