Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Pierre!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:41 am

Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Post by Pierre! » Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:55 am

Hello All!

ooma Rocks!

I just requested a port of my existing Land Line with Charter Cable to ooma. I have been running a temp number for a few weeks now, will that number no longer be available?

These are in different area codes... I am moving and want old friends to be able to keep in touch no charge.

TIA for you help!

frank1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:33 am

Re: Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Post by frank1 » Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:34 am

My temp number disappeared once my land line ported over. However, I did sign up for Premier later, and added a new second phone number.

If you've already given the temp number out, and want to keep it, you might be able to call Ooma and keep both numbers once the port happens. But ultimately you will have to sign up for Premier if you want two numbers.

Pierre!
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:41 am

Re: Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Post by Pierre! » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:35 am

Hello Frank,

I just signed up for Premier! And there is a very limited pool of people that have the new number, it should be easy to work through a new number.

I wonder if I will have to wait for the 'number port' to settle prior to picking up the second line...?

I appreciate the quick response and the info.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Post by southsound » Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:25 am

Pierre! wrote:Hello Frank,

I just signed up for Premier! And there is a very limited pool of people that have the new number, it should be easy to work through a new number.

I wonder if I will have to wait for the 'number port' to settle prior to picking up the second line...?

I appreciate the quick response and the info.
You should be able to work with ooma support and keep your temp number. I always recommend using their phone support at 888 711-6662 because it seems more reliable than using email. ooma support has been really stellar at helping me with my issues and the temp number situation has come up before - but there may be a limited time after the port to retrieve it - so I would recommend working with ooma soon.

And lest I forget, welcome to ooma! About the only thing you will miss is the thick telco phone bill every month!
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Porting my landline number, will I loose my temp number?

Post by bw1 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:11 am

If you already sent in your LOA and sent it through email. You can email your instructions to keep your temporary number as your second number once the port completes. Send the email to the same address you sent the LOA to. When the port completes, if it's not setup the way you want you can send an email in response to the email that ooma sends you that your port is complete.

That's what I did and it worked out fine.

By the way, you'll need to have Premier for the 2nd number.

Post Reply