DSL vs Cable with ooma

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
juno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:13 am

DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by juno » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:23 am

Hi everyone, first time posting here. . .

I have both DSL and Cable. When I run ooma on Cable the bandwidth drops from 12mbps to 1mbps, but when I run ooma on DSL the bandwidth only drops from 3mbps to 2mbps. Does anyone have an explanation for this? The cable speed drop is very unusual providing that ooma only consumes .5mb.

I am completely puzzled. . .

Thank you in advance

-J

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by atici » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:26 am

Try running the ooma behind the router. Then there will be no drops in either case.

juno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:13 am

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by juno » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:31 am

atici wrote:Try running the ooma behind the router. Then there will be no drops in either case.
Hi Atici, this is the setup I have:

For DSL: Phone Line -> Ooma Hub -> Router/Modem -> PC

For Cable: Cable Line -> Modem -> Ooma Hub -> Router -> PC

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:39 am

Try running both with:

dsl:
modem/router --> ooma and pc's

Cable:
modem--> router--> ooma and pc's

This setup should work best for you.

Your initial dsl map didn't look right with ooma in front of the modem.

Make sure you power cycle modem/router and ooma after connecting.

Wayne

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by atici » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:45 am

Yes, I was recommending what WayneDsr said. Also put ooma on a reserved ip address with DMZ (demilitarized zone) on your router configuration.

juno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:13 am

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by juno » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:58 am

atici wrote:Yes, I was recommending what WayneDsr said. Also put ooma on a reserved ip address with DMZ (demilitarized zone) on your router configuration.
Thank you everyone for your response.

I got the cable to replace the DSL, so I would not be using both as a permanent solution. It’s just that I still have two days before DSL cancelation goes in effect.

I will try power cycling it first thing when I get home.

Atici, can you please point me to some documentation on how to put ooma on the reserved ip . . . I know very little about all that stuff.

Thank you,

-J

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by atici » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:01 am

The point was to change the order of connections not simply power cycle.

For DMZ (demilitarized zone) setup check your router's manual.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:04 am

I would be interested which provided the best quality connection out of the box. Since you have both dsl and cable it would be interesting to see.

Thanks, welcome to the forums!

Wayne

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: DSL vs Cable with ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:06 am

The point was to change the order of connections not simply power cycle.
YES, power cycling was the final step, you need to change the order first!

Wayne

Post Reply