Installation Problem

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
bmx
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Post by bmx » Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:45 am

Deleted
Last edited by bmx on Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bmx
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Post by bmx » Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:45 am

Scott:
I have another problem on DMZ now.
somehow, today, Ooma start to disconnect after a while (20 min or so.)
I have cable-modem-router-ooma+computer+AirAve+USB Harddrive
I have ASUS 520GU on tomato 1.25.

It seems that I have to set up DMZ up since I have a lot of devices.

My Ooma address on router is 192.168.1.128.
My Ooma self IP is http://172.27.35.1/

On DMZ setting on Ooma, (I connect home port to laptop, type 172.27.35.1) I put 172.27.35.2,

On DMZ Seeting on Router, I set destination address 192.168.1.128
and source address restriction 172.27.35.1.
Is this right?

bmx
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Post by bmx » Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:47 pm

My Ooma is crazy today. Disconnect every 20 minutes. Have to restart router again and again. is that due to my DMZ seeting probmlem?

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Installation Problem

Post by scottlindner » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:04 pm

I don't have a clue. I have never put any effrto into understanding the purpose of a DMZ. I'm sure it is simple.

I would try resetting your router (power off/on). I have had troubles like that with routers in the past. It's like the DHCP server gets funky.

Scott

bmx
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Post by bmx » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:15 pm

scottlindner wrote:I don't have a clue. I have never put any effrto into understanding the purpose of a DMZ. I'm sure it is simple.

I would try resetting your router (power off/on). I have had troubles like that with routers in the past. It's like the DHCP server gets funky.

Scott
I disabled DMZ. And I connect as someone on this forrum:
cable-modem-router-computer+ ooma-->AirAve. Semms working now.
if it go bad again, I will restart the router and modem and everything.
Thanks!

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Installation Problem

Post by scottlindner » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:31 pm

Let us know if you have any other stability issues. My Ooma Hub has already been connected perfectly, unless I was farting around with the network but that's to be expected.

Scott

bmx
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Post by bmx » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:35 pm

scottlindner wrote:Let us know if you have any other stability issues. My Ooma Hub has already been connected perfectly, unless I was farting around with the network but that's to be expected.

Scott
I have enough this week.
installed Ooma after router,
installed AirAve.
Configure Qos and port forwarding.
upgrade router to ASUS 520GU
Enabled USB mode on router tomato.
Enabled codepage 936 on router for double characters.
it seems that it is working perfect now.
Back up all configuration and have a rest now.
Thanks for everyone helping me out.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Installation Problem

Post by scottlindner » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:43 pm

bmx wrote:it seems that it is working perfect now.
Yay!

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Installation Problem

Post by Aveamantium » Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:07 pm

DMZ stands for demilitarized zone... Basically it opens a hole in the firewall to the IP address specified for the DMZ (all ports are forwarded to the device). It is like putting the device in front of the router insted of behind the router's NAT firewall.
Go AVS!

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Installation Problem

Post by scottlindner » Mon Jun 29, 2009 3:22 am

Aveamantium wrote:DMZ stands for demilitarized zone... Basically it opens a hole in the firewall to the IP address specified for the DMZ (all ports are forwarded to the device). It is like putting the device in front of the router insted of behind the router's NAT firewall.
That is the simplest and most precise description of it I have ever seen. If it's really that simple then I completely understand what it's about.

I have ports forwarded all over the place, so I could not use a DMZ if I understand correctly.

Scott

Post Reply