Connecting All of the Phone Jacks

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
westcoastbound
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 4:14 pm

Connecting All of the Phone Jacks

Post by westcoastbound » Sat Jun 15, 2013 4:30 pm

Hello All,

Just installed Ooma for the first time and it works like a charm. I have ported my home number from the local cable company. However I know that the landline must be physically disconnected and I'm not sure how to do that as I am technically challenged. I have posted the pic of the box. Not sure how what to do. Please advise?
photo.JPG
BOX
photo.JPG (36.79 KiB) Viewed 2595 times

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Connecting All of the Phone Jacks

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jun 15, 2013 5:59 pm

The pic you posted is not the phone company NID but if you had cable phone service, when they installed it, they must have disconnected the phone company from your house wiring. Check for a phone cord going from your modem to a wall jack. Just disconnect that cord from the cable modem and connect it to Ooma's phone port instead. Later on, it would be better if you get your own modem. Motorola SB6121 is a popular one.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

westcoastbound
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 4:14 pm

Re: Connecting All of the Phone Jacks

Post by westcoastbound » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:11 am

lbmofo wrote:The pic you posted is not the phone company NID but if you had cable phone service, when they installed it, they must have disconnected the phone company from your house wiring. Check for a phone cord going from your modem to a wall jack. Just disconnect that cord from the cable modem and connect it to Ooma's phone port instead. Later on, it would be better if you get your own modem. Motorola SB6121 is a popular one.
Thanks for your response and excuse my ignorance, as I ask one more question. AGain, Im sort of technically challenged. :!: Once I disconnect the cord from the modem and connect to Ooma phone port, all of the phone should have the dial tone. Will one of the phones need to be connected to Ooma's phone port for all of the phones to have a dial tone in the house. Would I need a splitter somewhere?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Connecting All of the Phone Jacks

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:17 am

With cable phone service, your modem was providing the dialtone. With Ooma, your Ooma device would be providing the dialtone so however you had setup (feed the same walljack/splitter using Ooma instead of cable modem) and all should work the same as before. No new splitter or new device/setup required.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply