Page 2 of 3

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:52 am
by MapleOne
ililg2003 wrote: SO I am good now.. yeah, I can now call At&t and wish them well !
HeHeHe

Wait until you get the "We miss you letters"
I was with Bell and I found that part hilarious. They charge me 64 bucks for a home line, I call in to complain and they tell me I can strip it down to no calling features (not even call display) for $44 per month.

I asked them why so expensive and the girl said that with so many people leaving someone has to fund the network.

Now I have a gleam in my eye every time someone says they are leaving a big monopoly.

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:19 am
by Tuan
ililg2003 wrote:I have phone again!!!
Welcome to Ooma. Enjoy the low phone bill and great voip.

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:56 pm
by ililg2003
Update.. I have the blue light, I when I dial out I have dial tone, but the call never goes through... (tried with cell phone)
and when cell phone calls in , it rings but when you pick up its dead on other end, and the cell still "rings" as if I did not pick up..

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:11 pm
by lbmofo
Let's try to fix the the dialing out part. If you did not enable 10-digit dialing at http://my.ooma.com, you'd need to dial only 7 digits if the number being called is same area code as your Ooma number.

Do you have your Ooma device's "phone" port connected to a walljack? If so, stop doing that if you have not physically disconnected your house wiring from the phone company at the NID outside your home. Connect a phone directly to your Ooma's "phone" port.

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:29 pm
by ililg2003
I have had ooma for almost 1.5 years on my Att DSL router, I have moved over to Motorola and Comcast... and I just cannot get it right.. is it a router setting? Ihave a intergrated router on both dsl/ 2 wire, and Comcast/Motorola

I have it hooked into jacks.. with success for all this time and now AARRGGGH I want to lose AT&T..

so it a router setting?

and I do have where I drop the 1 when dialing

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:32 pm
by lbmofo
Plug a phone directly into your Ooma. Don't connect Ooma to your walljack because I am guessing you didn't disconnect your house wiring from the telephone company.

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:35 pm
by ililg2003
I did have house wiring disconnected , I have had it working through jacks for 1.5 years now...

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:53 pm
by lbmofo
I would check to see if your Motorola modem/router has updated firmware and do that first.

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:01 pm
by ililg2003
ok I will try that, not sure how to do that is that looking on website? or within the gate way?

Re: Red Blinking Light

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:06 pm
by lbmofo
You'd need to look up product support section of Motorola website or see if the modem/router device setup page has a way for you to do upgrade lookup.

By the way, here are a couple of examples of folks having issues with Motorola modem/router (Motorola Surfboard 6580):
viewtopic.php?t=14551
viewtopic.php?t=14243

Someone else was having issues with another firewall router and resolved issue by updating firmware:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15252&start=20#p107871