Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
jciarrocchi
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:41 am

Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by jciarrocchi » Wed May 15, 2013 11:58 am

Nothing. No lights, nada. Bought a new one. No help from customer support.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 15, 2013 1:39 pm

You bought a new one? Need to swap out your device? Customer service would help you with a swap.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

windoor
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:59 pm

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by windoor » Fri May 17, 2013 6:13 pm

jciarrocchi wrote:Nothing. No lights, nada. Bought a new one. No help from customer support.
I really do not like repeating "nasty rumors" but I have heard other complaints about the hardware and the two year mark.

It has been suggested that the hardware is designed to "self destruct" at about the two year mark.
That is why they sell an extended warranty for 1 year at approximately 1/2 the cost of a new unit.
About $69.00 if I recall correctly. Seems a bit high to me.

It would seem to make good business sense as the main revenue for OOMA is from selling the hardware.
After that, only new customers and the premier accounts can generate revenue.

Still a good deal at $6.25 per month (plus tax and fees) giving the current cost of the hardware, and I can live with that.

Add in the Premier fees, and it is now 16.20 per month. (plus tax and fees)

As a new user, I will be watching closely as to how long the hardware lasts.

Regards,

Windoor

TPower
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by TPower » Fri May 17, 2013 11:59 pm

Its only 39.99 for a one year ext.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by murphy » Sat May 18, 2013 2:52 am

My Hub is now 4.25 years old and working fine.

The weakest link in any device that uses a plug-in power supply is the plug-in power supply (aka wall-wart).

The typical point of failure is the electrolytic capacitors in the power supply. I had to cut open the power supply for my Netgear switch about two years ago and replace all of the electrolytic capacitors.

I have also had to open up my Samsung 40" HDTV and replace all of the electrolytic capacitors in its power supply.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ege bamyasi
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by ege bamyasi » Sat May 18, 2013 6:15 am

"It has been suggested that the hardware is designed to "self destruct" at about the two year mark." :shock:

Too funny!! Interesting, but I really doubt it. The point about the caps makes sense. In the past few years, brands of higher end computer PSUs have made their use of reputable Japanese made capacitors a major selling point. It seems there was a spate of failures due to cheaper Chinese made capacitors.

I used to work as a tech with a high-end speaker manufacturer in New England. When I bought a pair for myself, I replaced the electrolytics with film capacitors which perform far better and last virtually forever, but are much more expensive and bulky.

peabody
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by peabody » Sat May 18, 2013 7:25 am

If the box goes completely dark, the first thing you would check is the power supply. Your multimeter is your friend. And it appears to be a 5V, 2 amp supply, which should be pretty common, getting one with the right connector being the biggest problem.

But if the power supply checks out ok, then I would look at opening up the Telo to look for those capacitors, or anything else that looks suspicious. I would have expected to see Youtube videos by now showing how to open up a Telo, but I don't see any. But if the unit is out of warranty, it seems you risk nothing by opening up a dead Telo.

ege bamyasi
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by ege bamyasi » Sat May 18, 2013 12:07 pm

Good suggestions. If you're skilled enough to be switching out caps, you should be able to switch out the connector to a new power supply, if need be.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by murphy » Sat May 18, 2013 12:30 pm

ege bamyasi wrote:Good suggestions. If you're skilled enough to be switching out caps, you should be able to switch out the connector to a new power supply, if need be.
Yes but it costs money to buy a new power supply.
I already have an inventory of electrolytic capacitors so it only costs my time to repair one.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Had Ooma for about 2 years all of a sudden BOOM

Post by EX Bell » Sat May 18, 2013 1:26 pm

murphy wrote:
ege bamyasi wrote:Good suggestions. If you're skilled enough to be switching out caps, you should be able to switch out the connector to a new power supply, if need be.
Yes but it costs money to buy a new power supply.
I already have an inventory of electrolytic capacitors so it only costs my time to repair one.
Here's what the Telo looks like inside [scroll down]. I see only surface mount capacitors. Very difficult to diagnose, desolder and re-solder without overheating other components or causing the circuit traces to lift from excessive heat. Still, if you're successful, please post your results. Good luck.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

Post Reply