Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#109633 by JRW1954
Wed May 08, 2013 2:25 pm
Hello - I am new to Ooma. I was able to install everything, with a Linx and two phone numbers, and they seem to be working well. My question involves sending my dial tone to other phones in my house. Here is my set-up: I have Comcast cable service (which provides television, internet and phone -I am going to ditch the tv and phone and keep only the internet), with cable coming in the house to the Comcast modem. There is a phone cord that goes from the wall jack to the cable modem as well. The modem is connected to a Linksys router for wi-fi. My Ooma Telo is connected to the back of the router, and a phone line comes off the Telo to a phone (a Panasonic model KX-TGA101S base station). So here's the questions:

(1) What is the correct set-up to get my dial tone to other phones in my house?
(2) Do my other phones have to be plugged in to a wall jack?

Thanks in advance for any help.
#109634 by lbmofo
Wed May 08, 2013 2:32 pm
Likely, the cable tech disconnected your house wiring from the traditional telephone company to feed cable phone dialtone throughout your home. In this case, all you need to do is to feed the walljack your cable modem is feeding currently with Ooma dialtone (Ooma's "phone" port to the walljack instead of the cable modem to the walljack). Take a look at this post: /viewtopic.php?t=15059#p104878

Others have reported cable modem with digital voice capability degrades Ooma voice quality so if you have a chance, get your own modem and stop paying rental fees (~$7 to ~$10). Popular model is Motorola SB6121.
#109650 by JRW1954
Thu May 09, 2013 6:31 am
Okay, that worked. But I now have another question: I have several phones that are satellites of a base station. The latter apparently sends a signal to the satellites. Will the satellites work with Ooma or do I need single phones that will plug into the wall jacks?
#109651 by lbmofo