POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
webwbr
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:51 pm

POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by webwbr » Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:55 pm

Hi all; This is my second posting about faxing problems with Ooma. I'm new to Ooma, and love Ooma, don't get me wrong I'm not a hater. But boy... I'm frustrated with trying to fax. I'm curious, if you can fax with Ooma, what devices are you using to send faxes. I'm using an HP 4500 All in One and also tried a Lexmark Pinnacle 901. I never could get the Lexmark to work. and I *sometimes* can get the HP to work (send and receive_. I've played with every setting know to man on the faxes machines and on my.ooma.com. So I'm wondering if there is a magic machine that just always works.

Thanks in advance.
Webwbr

:cry:
Telo (between modem/router)
Premier 2 lines (one voice/one fax)
Linx (but faxing doesn't work direct on Telo either)
Redundancy level 3

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by lbmofo » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:56 pm

Muratec M920, Sharp UX 300 works pretty good with Ooma viewtopic.php?t=15562#p108724
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by EX Bell » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:10 pm

I have an Epson WorkForce 845 and it works well sending. Receiving did not work on multi-pages last time I tried it. Never could get Linx to work with faxes. Used to have a Samsung SCX-4521F and that could send a few pages, but would then error. Never could recieve any with that one. They're not all created equal. Best you can do is set the redundancy level to 3 like you have already, turn off ECM in the fax machine settings and if available, slow down the fax machine connection speed. Since the redundancy level settings came into existence, I have not tried increasing them with my machine because I don't send or receive faxes more than once a year.
webwbr wrote:Hi all; This is my second posting about faxing problems with Ooma. I'm new to Ooma, and love Ooma, don't get me wrong I'm not a hater. But boy... I'm frustrated with trying to fax. I'm curious, if you can fax with Ooma, what devices are you using to send faxes. I'm using an HP 4500 All in One and also tried a Lexmark Pinnacle 901. I never could get the Lexmark to work. and I *sometimes* can get the HP to work (send and receive_. I've played with every setting know to man on the faxes machines and on my.ooma.com. So I'm wondering if there is a magic machine that just always works.

Thanks in advance.
Webwbr

:cry:
Telo (between modem/router)
Premier 2 lines (one voice/one fax)
Linx (but faxing doesn't work direct on Telo either)
Redundancy level 3
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by murphy » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:29 am

I haven't sent or received a FAX since around 1995.
It's obsolete technology.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by EX Bell » Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:33 am

murphy wrote:I haven't sent or received a FAX since around 1995.
It's obsolete technology.
No question it is old technology, but definitely not obsolete. That would imply it is not used at all. The California government allows me to cast absentee ballots by fax. A convenience I take advantage of, since it allows me more time to make a decision and vote on election day, as if I were physically at the polls.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 4328
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by Tom » Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:55 am

Faxing over the internet works if conditions are just right. It is not guaranteed to work because the T.30 fax protocol was not designed with the jittery internet in mind. Implementation of T.38, which was designed for the internet, is on the roadmap.

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by EX Bell » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:14 pm

Tom B wrote:Faxing over the internet works if conditions are just right. It is not guaranteed to work because the T.30 fax protocol was not designed with the jittery internet in mind. Implementation of T.38, which was designed for the internet, is on the roadmap.
Thanks for the feedback Tom. Good to hear, as this going to be much more critical for Ooma Office customers.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by roadshow » Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:45 am

I have an OOMA Hub, I fax with my Canon MX892 AIO Printer. It works every time for me with no special star codes. I faxed a 7 page document last night.

User avatar
renatae
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:28 pm

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by renatae » Fri May 17, 2013 7:39 pm

On the infrequent occasions that someone insists I send a fax instead of sending a pdf via email (government, stodgy companies, etc.) I have used faxzero.com. You can fax for free, or for $1.99 you can send up to about seven pages.

I think it has saved me from pulling out my hair trying to get OOMA to fax. :)

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: POLL: Are you really able to fax with Ooma

Post by highq » Sat May 18, 2013 11:40 am

renatae wrote:On the infrequent occasions that someone insists I send a fax instead of sending a pdf via email (government, stodgy companies, etc.) I have used faxzero.com. You can fax for free, or for $1.99 you can send up to about seven pages.

I think it has saved me from pulling out my hair trying to get OOMA to fax. :)
Free??
Their web pages says free for a 30-day trial, otherwise $10/month.

Post Reply