Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#9404 by mhowie
Sat May 09, 2009 10:28 am
Hello,

I am a new Ooma (Nooma?) user and believe I just got my hub activated successfully. My cordless phone system seems to be operating normally and my wired phones have an Ooma dialtone as well.

I am transitioning from AT&T CallVantage as this service is ending in the upcoming months. As a result, I have been using my home's dry loop wiring exclusively for several years and decided to simply replace the CallVantage TA with the Ooma hub behind my D-Link DIR-655 router.

I assigned the Ooma hub a static IP (DHCP reservation) and placed the Ooma hub into my DMZ.

A few questions at this stage of the game:

1) The Ooma package I bought (Costco) includes one Scout. With the setup I have, is a Scout even necessary? Could I install it in conjunction with a cordless phone on a different level of the house in order to have a second place to check messages or does the fact I have the Ooma hub connected to the house wiring via the "Phone" port?

2) It appears as if I currently have a second line available when I click the flash button on my cordless handsets. Is this a function of the trial Premier membership or is this an included benefit which is available as a result of using the dry loop non-landline configuration?

3) Is there a resource where optimal settings have been shared for those using the Ooma hub behind D-Link routers?

4) Any other general thoughts/advice for a newcomer?

Thanks in advance for your direction.

--Howie
#9448 by bw1
Mon May 11, 2009 5:33 am
mhowie wrote:1) The Ooma package I bought (Costco) includes one Scout. With the setup I have, is a Scout even necessary? Could I install it in conjunction with a cordless phone on a different level of the house in order to have a second place to check messages or does the fact I have the Ooma hub connected to the house wiring via the "Phone" port?