Network Configuration Question

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
dhlynch
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:35 pm

Network Configuration Question

Post by dhlynch » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:06 am

My Ooma Telo has been installed for about a month, and working fine. This is my configuration: Telo "Home Network" connected via ethernet to my G5 desktop computer (no wireless card)....Telo "To Internet" connected via ethernet to my ethernet wall jack. That is ultimately connected to my router in the basement.

All this is fine, except that my desktop is not longer part of my wireless network. It now bears the address of my Telo. This is a problem because while the computer is connected to the internet and operates fine, I cannot stream music from it through my Airport Express because it's technically not on my wireless network anymore. My other computers now don't see it and I'm wondering if there's another way to hook the Telo up while keeping that desktop in the wireless network.

I thought of just putting a little ethernet hub next to that desktop computer so the computer and Telo can share the ethernet jack.

Thoughts?

Thanks! Dave

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Network Configuration Question

Post by lbmofo » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:44 am

I would get wifi dongle from Ooma to connect Ooma via wifi (or get a wifi bridge and connect Ooma via ethernet that way) so you can connect your computer to the enthernet connection you have in the room. Or you can get a wifi dongle for your computer. Or you can get a switch so you can connect your computer as well as Ooma to the ethernet connection you have in your room.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Network Configuration Question

Post by thunderbird » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:47 am

dhlynch:
Connect Modem-Router-Ooma per https://www.ooma.com/sites/default/file ... G_2011.pdf Step 2.

For this configuration nothing is connected to the Ooma Telo Home port, except to temporarily connect a computer to access Ooma Setup.

I have had mine connected this way for years and it works fine.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Network Configuration Question

Post by murphy » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:36 pm

dhlynch wrote:I thought of just putting a little ethernet hub next to that desktop computer so the computer and Telo can share the ethernet jack.
IMHO this is the best solution but you want a switch, not a hub.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

dhlynch
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: Network Configuration Question

Post by dhlynch » Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:44 pm

Thanks all! Good stuff...

Post Reply