Phone and route setup

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Willy15
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:55 pm

Phone and route setup

Post by Willy15 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:15 pm

My OOMA phone is working fine and my internet works fine - separately. If I receive a phone call, the internet stops and all I get is the hour glass until I hang up. Does the phone take full control of the router ports and this is normal?
Setup is Comcast cable modem (DOCSIS 3.0) to a Cisco/Linksys EA6500 router to OOMA. Phone quality is great and internet is fast.
I tried normal setup cable-ooma-router, but the internet connection was limited to 100mb not the 1000mb that the computer/router/cable was capable of.
There was a mention of turning off QOS on the OOMA, but that did not help.
Any ideas that would let them work together?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Phone and route setup

Post by lbmofo » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:32 pm

"Optimal Setup" posts for your reference

If after Router - viewtopic.php?t=12403

If before Router - viewtopic.php?t=9536#p66155
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Willy15
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:55 pm

Re: Phone and route setup

Post by Willy15 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:25 pm

Thank you for the help.
I've gone through the routine several times before with no results.
BUT after doing a power cycle for the seventh time, it started working.!!!!!!!
BTW I have comcast modem to cisco router to ooma. I thought putting the ooma behind the router was a safe thing to do.
I always waited at least two minutes between tests.. Power off for two minutes then back on for two minutes before trying any tests. I guess it needed the seven kicks before it understood. Thank you again.

Post Reply