Using Ooma Hub with Communication Module

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
garv315
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:20 am

Using Ooma Hub with Communication Module

Post by garv315 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:53 am

Just recently moved into a new home and my integrated router provided by the cable company is installed in the communications closet (outfitted with a Telecom Distributor Module 4x12 M1478) where it appear that the main landline comes into. Can I use the Ooma Hub to distribute dial tone to all of the phone jacks by connecting it to the router and directly into the communication module? If so, how can I determine which of the connections are phone related and which are the main landline from phone company that need to be unplug in order to prevent any damage to the Ooma Hub? Hopefully, the attached pictures will enable feedback!
Attachments
TelecomModule_V3.jpg
Upclose view of the panel setup
TelecomModule_V3.jpg (21.48 KiB) Viewed 1913 times
TelecomModule_V4.jpg
View of the panel setup with router
TelecomModule_V4.jpg (31.32 KiB) Viewed 1913 times

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Using Ooma Hub with Communication Module

Post by lbmofo » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:00 pm

If you have landline service now, unplug the cable plugged into the "Lines In 1,2,3,4" port. You should lose dialtone on every walljack. Once verified. If you have Ooma up and running in the closet, pull the cable plugged into the "Lines In 1,2,3,4" port, connect a regular phone cord between the "Lines In 1,2,3,4" port and the Ooma "Phone" port.

Image
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

garv315
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:20 am

Re: Using Ooma Hub with Communication Module

Post by garv315 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 pm

Thank you for your help, after 7 days of use, my phone service with Ooma is A+ :P

Post Reply