How does ooma get calls behind a firewall

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
flagrant99
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 9:13 am

How does ooma get calls behind a firewall

Post by flagrant99 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:10 am

I just moved my ooma hub behind my router and it still seems to work fine behind the NAT firewall in the router. On the following page http://www.ooma.com/app/support/advance ... vice-ports it mentions about ports, etc that are used for outbound traffic. How does ooma get inbound calls? Can I improve performance by putting my ooma in DMZ or port forwarding those ports to it?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: How does ooma get calls behind a firewall

Post by thunderbird » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:32 am

As long as your Ooma Telo is functioning properly, you shouldn't have to Port Forward the listed ports or put the Ooma Telo's Internet port MAC address in the router's DMZ.

I have had my Ooma Telo behind the Router, without Port Forwarding, or using the DMZ, for a long time and it works great.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How does ooma get calls behind a firewall

Post by murphy » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:33 am

Ooma uses an encrypted vpn to their server(s) in California.
Most home routers do not have an outbound firewall.
Any program on a PC can specify what ports it wants to be open for the return connection.
They are opened when the connection is set up and closed when the connection is torn down.
The same is true for the operating system running in the Ooma box.

Unless you have a commercial router (hint: it was extremely expensive) no port configuration is required.
DMZ won't hurt but it also won't help.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

flagrant99
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 9:13 am

Re: How does ooma get calls behind a firewall

Post by flagrant99 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:00 am

Thanks for your responses. It makes sense now. The vpn connection is initiated from inside the firewall so we can get inbound traffic on the already connected ports. No need for dmz. Thx!

Post Reply