Page 1 of 1

Setup device mode

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:11 am
by amoney
I have a Telo.

I noted in setup device mode choices are Phone, Fax, Alarm...

Could someone refresh my memory whats the difference between the modes. Can I just set as Fax and make a plain old telephone call?

On a rare occasion I send faxes with an AIO HP Officejet by using a prefix to adjust for the voip line when sending a fax.

I use a Panasonic phone system w/Answering machine.

I plan to get a Linx very soon.

Thanks.

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:22 am
by Tom
For fax to work there's no need to set fax mode unless you want a non-Ooma dialtone on the Telo or Linx phone port. The switch to the uncompressed G.711 codec is done automatically when a faxtone is detected, whether fax mode is set or not (using *99 to select G.711 at the outset of the call is also still supported).

However if e.g. the Linx is going to be used for fax exclusively (or other data comm) then you can opt to set alarm mode, which will cause every call on that port to be in G.711 mode. But again this is not necessary for fax to work. It is merely an option.

For non-Ooma dialtone see viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7764&p=105767#p105767

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:12 pm
by Morac
Is this a recent change? Last year I could not get FAX calls to go through unless I did a *99 first.

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:21 pm
by Tom
Automatic fax tone detection became available on telo in July 2011. It was already available on the hub.

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:16 pm
by sabretooth02
Does the Telo have to be set to FAX device in order to fax correctly???

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:56 pm
by oomamaniacal
No, that selection will be renamed "legacy dial tone."

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 4:52 pm
by sabretooth02
Great... then how come my faxes don't go through and fail in the 2nd page??

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:03 pm
by oomamaniacal
If the first page is being transmitted properly, then it should not matter what the initial dial tone sounds like. I don't think switching to fax mode will make a difference.

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:40 pm
by Iraisok
Tom B.,

Haven't tried faxing recently but success rate was at or close to zero, incoming or outgoing. Last time I tried was when I was in trial of Ooma eventually signing on to Premier at annual rate. I realized fax operation was not crucial to my decision.

I believe I read months ago that by the end of 2014, Ooma would improve faxing.

Is this true or will Ooma newbies continue to report same ole issues for you to broach? Any real fix in the future? When maybe?

I always appreciate your effort and that of other Ooma personnel. Faxing is one issue that needs a real fix or change to the Ooma claim.

Tnx,
Ira

Re: Setup device mode

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:27 am
by Tom
T.38 support for Ooma residential is on the roadmap. It's already supported on Ooma Office.