GE Skype Internet phone...

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
inhaliburton
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by inhaliburton » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:28 am

Hi there,

I bought this phone about 5 years ago:

http://www.home-electronics.net/ge/pc/v ... roduct=139

and wonder if it can be used with my Ooma Telo?

I plugged the USB end of the GE into the Telo, but no joy.

Thanks for any help.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by thunderbird » Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:18 am

I don't know if this will help, but..... viewtopic.php?f=2&t=15078

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by lbmofo » Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:59 am

Here is the manual for your phone: http://www.home-electronics.net/ge/pc/I ... EE1_IB.pdf

Where it says to connect to landline, connect to Ooma's "phone" port.

The USB needs to be connected to your computer to use Skype.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

inhaliburton
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by inhaliburton » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:44 pm

Thank you both for your replies.

I got it working with those suggestions, but it's not a final solution for my needs.

My plan is to get used to using the Ooma Telo system before dumping my Bell Canada landline. I want to see how reliable it is, audio quality, etc. before porting my phone number over to the Ooma system, likely in a couple of months. Being 70-years old, I'm going to take my time at this.

Is there a way to incorporate my Panasonic cordless phone system (a base station, plus 3 wireless remote phones throughout the house) into the Ooma system, and still have access to the landline phone number for now?

Thanks again for your knowledge!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:09 pm

inhaliburton wrote:Is there a way to incorporate my Panasonic cordless phone system (a base station, plus 3 wireless remote phones throughout the house) into the Ooma system, and still have access to the landline phone number for now?
You can only do it if your cordless phone system is a 2 line system.

If just a single line phone system, forward your landline phone (if your landline account has the feature) to your Ooma number so you'd receive all the calls on Ooma. Dialing out would show your Ooma number as outgoing callerid though. To connect the Panasonic as well as the GE phone to the Ooma, you can get one of these duplex splitters.

Image
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

inhaliburton
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by inhaliburton » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:46 pm

Thank you for that.

I don't know if it's a 2-line system. Originally when we moved in here, we were given 3 numbers. We eventually told ma Bell to cancel the extra 2 because they had been previously used by a resort. Hence, we had many late night calls...

If it's a 2-liner, you mentioned that the Panasonic wireless system could be used with the Telo.

Thank you again.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:37 pm

If your phone is a 2 line system then in the back of the base, there would likely be 2 phone ports; 1 marked with L1/L2 and another marked with L2 (like what you see on page 10 of this doc: http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMAN ... 81-MUL.PDF)

You would plug in 1 port to your landline and another port to your Ooma's "phone" port.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

inhaliburton
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by inhaliburton » Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:39 am

Hi lbmofo,

Mine is a KX-TG6431CT, a single line.

Do you think plugging a duplex splitter into the Panasonic with one cord going to the Ooma Telo and the other into the landline wall socket might possibly work?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:49 am

That would damage Ooma. Don't mix dialtones.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

inhaliburton
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

Re: GE Skype Internet phone...

Post by inhaliburton » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:23 am

Ah, yes. I recall reading in the online manual how to do that now that you mention damaging the Oomo. Isolating the house-wired phones where the line enters the house is the way to do it. That will happen when I eventually port my phone number to Telo.

Thank you!

Post Reply