Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
bhowells
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by bhowells » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:06 pm

Set up the Ooma system today. All is fine with it. However I have a Windows Small Business Server running Exchange. My internet connection has a static IP address. I can no longer receive email at the server and I can't access Outlook Web Access (port 443).

What do i need to do to get all to play together?

Thanks for any help.

Bill

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by tommies » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:29 pm

I don't have any experiences with the Exchange server. However, the more info you provide, the easier for others to help. How is the ooma hub fit into your network, and how is the thing connected together?

Be aware of colliding of ip addresses between your LAN. Until you give more detail about your setup, all I can do is giving some general advice.
tommies

bhowells
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by bhowells » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:33 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Cable modem
-->Ooma
-->router/switch (plugged into Home port)
-->server & workstations

Ooma is using default IP (172...) settings. My server is handling DHCP for my network (192.168...).

Internet and phone work fine. Remote access to mail server does NOT work. Inside my network when I put my external IP address in a browser I get the Ooma set up but I want to get my server when I do that.

Perhaps I need port forwarding to resolve the problem with outside access to my server?

koehn
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:57 am

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by koehn » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:55 pm

In general, if your router is inside the ooma, you'll want to give it a static IP address (in the 172... network) and tell Ooma to put it in the DMZ. Then all your router configuration should work as it did pre-ooma.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by WayneDsr » Fri May 01, 2009 4:00 am

Just make it all easier and plug ooma into your router along with your other pc's. If you need Quality of Service control, use your routers QOS or port priority.

modem-->router--> ooma

Wayne

bhowells
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by bhowells » Fri May 01, 2009 6:39 am

To WayneDsr --

Well that was simple enough! I didn't even have to power cycle any devices - just re-cabled them. All is working perfectly now.

Thanks!

Bill

bhowells
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by bhowells » Fri May 01, 2009 12:59 pm

Whoops. I spoke too soon. I can receive calls fine. Someone can call me and we can have a conversation as expected.

However when I try to call out I hear the dial tone and can make the call. Once I dial the number I hear nothing else. The phone of the person I call rings but when they answer they don't hear anything either. So basically I call out, the connection is made but we can't hear each other.

Any ideas?

Bill

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by WayneDsr » Fri May 01, 2009 1:07 pm

At least we fixed the Exchange Server issue!

Did you ever power cycle everything after reconnecting ooma?
You might want to try that if you didn't.

Do you have any firewalls set up in your router?

Wayne

bhowells
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by bhowells » Fri May 01, 2009 1:34 pm

I just power cycled all the devices--no luck. All ports on the firewall are open outbound. Most are blocked inbound, except for those needed by the Exchange Server.

Bill

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Have mail server & static ip--problems after Ooma install

Post by WayneDsr » Fri May 01, 2009 2:41 pm

These are the outbound ports needed for ooma.
UDP 1194
UDP 3480
UDP 514
UDP 49000-50000
TCP 443

These may help.
I would also give Customer Service a call, the issue may not be on your end.

Wayne

Post Reply