How should we power down the Ooma?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
SpockThePain
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:31 am

How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by SpockThePain » Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:42 am

I installed my Ooma about a week ago. This weekend it got bricked when I unplugged it to move it to its permanent location. When I plugged it back in I got the runway lights cycling problem often sited in the forum. Ooma sent a replacement which I received the next afternoon. Very good service I should say.

There was mention that the Ooma might be better on a UPS, and I might agree, but what happened didn't have anything to do with a power surge. It was just that I unplugged it myself and plugged it back in a half an hour later.

Now I am afraid to ever unplug it again. I am starting to think of the Ooma as quite fragile. Even on a UPS, if the power is out long enough, which it usually is around here when it goes out, it will have to shut down. So then my question is, what is the safest way to power down the Ooma?

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by murphy » Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:53 am

I have been pulling the power plug out of the back of mine for years with no problems observed.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by thunderbird » Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:54 am

SpockThePain:
I have unpowered and repowered the Ooma Telos that I have many, many times without any problems.

Of coarse I never uppower the Ooma Telo during boot.

Even if I connect the network cables into the wrong ports, nothing has ever happend.

For me, the Ooma Telos seems to be very rugged, with the exception of lightening sticks or large power surges.

You seem to have something odd happening??? Maybe you just go a hold of a couple of defective Ooma Telos???

SpockThePain
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:31 am

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by SpockThePain » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:08 am

I should clarify I only the first Ooma got bricked. When it was unplugged everything was blue, so I don't think it was in the middle of any sort of update.

It is too soon to know anything about the durability of the replacement. I am hoping for the best as there will be all sorts of power outage opportunity in this area.

Please note this is not a knock on Ooma service. The chain of events was

Tuesday - Purchased Ooma
Thursday - Installed
Friday - Already satisfied with sound quality, submitted number porting request
Saturday - Moved, bricked.
Monday - Contacted Ooma, determined replacement needed
Tuesday - Received replacement, worked when connected
Thursday (tomorrow) - Number port will be complete. Phone company service will be terminated.

It is hard to complain about this. I will probably get the two year warranty extension, a bargain, the cost is only about 3 months traditional phone service.

User avatar
focuspuller
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Third Planet From The Sun

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by focuspuller » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:45 am

CAUTION IN ON A UPS.

Found out the hard way when power went out and my UPS kicked in. Had to shut down UPS because outage was going to last more than a day.

When power came back on I turned on the UPS....The turn on of the UPS to connected devices had a surge to the ones that self powered, like the TELO. Mine went to lights 1 and 2 and could not reboot.

So if on a UPS and you need to shut it down, unplug all devices from the UPS after it shuts down. Then when power is restored and UPS is on line again plug in your devices to the UPS.
One if by Land
Two if by Sea
Three if by Limo

SpockThePain
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:31 am

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by SpockThePain » Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:26 pm

focuspuller,

I'm getting the impression it might be a little finicky, but others say not to worry.

One thing I think I will do in the future is unplug the AC from the power strip instead of pulling the DC plug on the back. The wall plug is harder to get to but it might be easier on the unit to do it this way. Heck I have no idea either way whats going on.

stormer
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:03 am

Re: How should we power down the Ooma?

Post by stormer » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:41 pm

If you get a decent enough ups... mine, once power goes out, will run my computer and all things for about 20-30 minutes. If I power off the computer, about 2-3 hours. (if you can deal with the beeping!!) Here in Charlotte, NC you get power fluctuations with storms that pass through the area and I've found that I had to go get really good and expensive $200+ UPS in order to deal with the electricity issues in the summer. All this is good information. I would think the ooma device is like any router you have connected to your network? Unplug from back of device... move to new location, plug back in? I think the reason you had an issue was simply because you had a defective ooma device. I can't imagine these things being that fragile other wise it would be all over the message boards if it were a common issue.

Post Reply