setting (moving) lines

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
cyras21
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:50 am

setting (moving) lines

Post by cyras21 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:52 am

I have the OOMA TELO and handset. I have two lines, one of which will be a fax. I've already set up the handset in preferences but the line that is to be used on the handset will not move. When I click on the tab, the handset is not an option like it is on the fax line.

Any ideas how to fix this?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: setting (moving) lines

Post by lbmofo » Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:26 pm

Do you mean when you edit a phone number, you can't associate a personal device to it?

I think this is because you can't associate the primary number in your account to a personal device.

If the 2ndary number in your account is the fax number, go ahead and create a Telo (not Telo handset) personal device and assign the fax number to the Telo personal device. You can hook up a fax machine to your Telo "phone" port. The primary number would be "shared" and would only ring your handset. The fax number will only ring phones/fax machine connected to your Telo "phone" port. If the primary number is what you want to use as fax number, then call Ooma customer service at 1-888-711-OOMA and have them swap the phone number positions (make secondary primary and primary secondary).

https://www.ooma.com/app/support/personal-devices
https://www.ooma.com/app/support/personal-phone-number
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

cyras21
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:50 am

Re: setting (moving) lines

Post by cyras21 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:43 pm

thanks

Post Reply