Porting question

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Mike336
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:18 pm

Porting question

Post by Mike336 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:02 am

My landline, which is in the process of being ported, stopped working today. When you call it, you get a message that "this is not a working number." Is that simply a gap in the porting process and I should expect the port to be completed soon? Is that normal? I sorta expected a seamless transition, like when I ported by cell phone last time.

FYI, I'm not late on the bill, but I did see an ATT technician in the neighborhood this morning. I guess it could just be a coincidence caused by him working on the lines.

User avatar
number9
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Porting question

Post by number9 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:06 am

Mike336 wrote:My landline, which is in the process of being ported, stopped working today. When you call it, you get a message that "this is not a working number." Is that simply a gap in the porting process and I should expect the port to be completed soon? Is that normal? I sorta expected a seamless transition, like when I ported by cell phone last time.
Hi Mike336,
Yes, this is common to the porting process. When the port is complete you will get a confirmation email from ooma saying the port is complete. It should be at the end the day.

Barry
Plays PRS guitars

Mike336
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:18 pm

Re: Porting question

Post by Mike336 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:18 am

Thanks! That's what I figured. Just wasn't sure if I should call ATT and tell them they broke something. I only started the port process a little over a week ago and figured it would take a little longer.

gregg098
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: Porting question

Post by gregg098 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:57 pm

My number also stopped working at the 3 week point (last Friday) with the same out of service message. I called and it seemed that the old VOIP company gave the number to ooma, but ooma didnt configure it when they were supposed to. I had to call on Saturday morning and they fixed it quickly.

If I were you, Id call ooma just to check.

stuman74
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: Porting question

Post by stuman74 » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:57 am

gregg098 wrote:My number also stopped working at the 3 week point (last Friday) with the same out of service message. I called and it seemed that the old VOIP company gave the number to ooma, but ooma didnt configure it when they were supposed to. I had to call on Saturday morning and they fixed it quickly.

If I were you, Id call ooma just to check.
Mine is scheduled to port today (4/23). As of this morning, I also get the same "Number is not in service" message when calling my number from another phone. I'm porting from Vonage to Ooma so I was assuming it would be seemless. I hope it's all straigtened out soon. Nobody can get through at home at the moment.

Post Reply