Home network port - Can Disable?!

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
aicitman
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:18 am

Home network port - Can Disable?!

Post by aicitman » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:05 pm

Hello. The ooma telo has a home network port, and anyone that has access to the ooma can connect their computer straight into that port, and no one will know the difference. Is there anyway to block access to the home network? (For example to disable the dhcp server, or remove the physical hub)

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Home network port - Can Disable?!

Post by lbmofo » Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:02 pm

Not aware of any way to disable. What is the concern?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

johnvan
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:12 am

Re: Home network port - Can Disable?!

Post by johnvan » Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:56 am

Never thought of that, a smart teenager could bypass all of your parental controls that way.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Home network port - Can Disable?!

Post by murphy » Sat Apr 07, 2012 8:08 am

aicitman wrote:Hello. The ooma telo has a home network port, and anyone that has access to the ooma can connect their computer straight into that port, and no one will know the difference. Is there anyway to block access to the home network? (For example to disable the dhcp server, or remove the physical hub)
Configure the DHCP table inside of the Telo so that the rightmost octet for the start and end IP address is 255.
The Telo allows it and it is an invalid IP address. Anything connected to the Home port will not be assigned an IP address.

Once you do this a factory reset of the Telo is needed to return the Home port to operation.
I know their are other ways around the reset but if they are published the trick becomes less useful.
Please do not respond in this thread with the ways around the reset.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Home network port - Can Disable?!

Post by lbmofo » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:15 am

For your consideration, all my computers are Windows PCs and laptops so I use Microsoft Windows Live Family Safety. Works very well. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... ily-Safety
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply