Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Post by WayneDsr » Fri May 01, 2009 4:04 am

That's all correct. If they do put your dsl on line 2 you will have to switch the lines over in the telco box.

Wayne

Harv
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 9:54 am

Re: Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Post by Harv » Fri May 01, 2009 10:11 am

In my case, which is going very smoothly so far, I sent the LOA in 11 days ago and received an Ooma message that I would be ported on or about May 7. I called Qwest today and was surprised when the Rep told me that the porting was all setup and will be done on May 8 and gave me a new account number that will go into effect on May 8. My DSL will be changed to Stand Alone and there will be no porting charge. The Rep said that I would probably not even notice what happened.

Sounds too good to be true .....

buzzman
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Post by buzzman » Fri May 01, 2009 11:26 am

Wow, yours is fast.

I sent in my first OLA on 4/1 and just got an email from Saiyad saying my porting date would be on or around May 13. I just called Qwest and they said they couldn't find anything. :(

Harv wrote:In my case, which is going very smoothly so far, I sent the LOA in 11 days ago and received an Ooma message that I would be ported on or about May 7. I called Qwest today and was surprised when the Rep told me that the porting was all setup and will be done on May 8 and gave me a new account number that will go into effect on May 8. My DSL will be changed to Stand Alone and there will be no porting charge. The Rep said that I would probably not even notice what happened.

Sounds too good to be true .....

buzzman
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Post by buzzman » Fri May 08, 2009 6:11 am

So Harv, how did the porting go?

Harv
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 9:54 am

Re: Stand Alone DSL - Porting Home Number

Post by Harv » Fri May 08, 2009 2:41 pm

Okay .... the porting was completed on Wed. and I still had Qwest DSL/Phone service until Friday morning. When I turned on the TV at 8AM a screen message came up saying that my Dish receiver had lost the telephone connection. I got into the Dish menu and could not make a phone connection. Took a Scout and used it to make connection to receiver. Works great! My DSL was never interrupted at all.

I'm a happy Ooma user.

Post Reply