Any down time for ported number?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
hindsight is 20-20
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:00 pm

Any down time for ported number?

Post by hindsight is 20-20 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:09 pm

I just bought our Telo a couple weeks ago and am thinking about porting my custom ring number that we currently have with Centurylink. Does anyone know if there is any down time (rendering the number unusable for a while) when the number is in the process of being ported? If so, how long would my number being ported be unusable?
Thanks

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Any down time for ported number?

Post by thunderbird » Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:16 pm

hindsight is 20-20 wrote:I just bought our Telo a couple weeks ago and am thinking about porting my custom ring number that we currently have with Centurylink. Does anyone know if there is any down time (rendering the number unusable for a while) when the number is in the process of being ported? If so, how long would my number being ported be unusable?
Thanks
Most people have no down time at all. Some people will report a maybe an hour or two on the day of when the port takes place. This is usually taken care of by an Ooma device reboot.

Most important, when you port, make sure the information you provide is correct. One, what may seem to be little, incorrect piece of information may slow the process from days to weeks.

hindsight is 20-20
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:00 pm

Re: Any down time for ported number?

Post by hindsight is 20-20 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:33 pm

Thanks :D

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Any down time for ported number?

Post by murphy » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:55 pm

When I ported my number from Vonage in January 2009 my number was out of service for 7 hours.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply