New setup advice

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
5302317040
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:02 pm

New setup advice

Post by 5302317040 » Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:19 pm

I've owned the original Ooma unit for about three or four years, it's been great. Currently this is my path: iMac (old powerpc G4) > Ooma hub > AT&T DSL modem (with 'elite' connection speed). Now I am buying a new intel-based iMac and also plan to purchase a router so I can later connect an additional device. So two questions: First, what is a good router to purchase for integrating with the Ooma hub? Second, what should the path (placement of devices) be for best voice quality and overall performance of all connected devices? Thanks for any suggestions.

rmeden
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: New setup advice

Post by rmeden » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:40 am

In my experience the brand of router really doesn't make much difference (certainly not at DSL speeds). Buy the cheapest. A switch is cheaper still theoretically faster, but I doubt it will be noticeable.

Code: Select all

imac--- new hub/router -- Ooma -- DSL Modem
 new--/ 
Connect the Ooma to the WAN port of the router, and any port if a switch. (If you use a switch port with a router, you need to disable the router's DHCP server)

I'm not sure if your DSL "Modem" is really a modem or modem/router combo (I don't think AT&T has sent out any modem-only units in ages), but in your case, the Ooma acts as a firewall so it doesn't matter.

Robert

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: New setup advice

Post by thunderbird » Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:06 am

5302317040 wrote:I've owned the original Ooma unit for about three or four years, it's been great. Currently this is my path: iMac (old powerpc G4) > Ooma hub > AT&T DSL modem (with 'elite' connection speed). Now I am buying a new intel-based iMac and also plan to purchase a router so I can later connect an additional device. So two questions: First, what is a good router to purchase for integrating with the Ooma hub? Second, what should the path (placement of devices) be for best voice quality and overall performance of all connected devices? Thanks for any suggestions.
I would purchase a gigabit router, not because you may need the extra speeds for you LAN, but because the gigabit router will be of a later design with more up to date features.

Purchase a router that will provide Wi-Fi Wireless N for greater wireless speeds, even if at this time you don't use wireless.

Apple, Netgear, Cisco/Linksys, Belkin, D-Link, all seem to manufacture good routers now days.

Examples:
After clicking on the sites below, go about half way down each page to see a more full selection of routers for these manufactures. You can also click on and then read the review for each router.
http://www.amazon.com/E3200-High-Perfor ... grid_i_2_1
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005KG44V0

The Apple routers are said to not have Quality of Service priority for VoIP devices. But most people that use Apple routers, along with the Ooma devices, have no problems.
http://www.amazon.com/mn/search/?ref%5F ... le+Routers

Another Vendor:
http://www.buy.com/sr/searchresults.asp ... isplay=col

I perfer to connect Modem-Router-Ooma, but try connecting both ways, and use what works best for you.

rmeden
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: New setup advice

Post by rmeden » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:37 am

thunderbird wrote: The Apple routers are said to not have Quality of Service priority for VoIP devices.
In the above setup, the Ooma does the VoIP QOS, there's no need for the router to do it.

You can spend more, but you'll still work fine with the cheapest switch.

Robert

Post Reply