Ooma Telo no logo light

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jahook
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:01 pm

Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by jahook » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:15 pm

Thanks for any help upfront. New user and recently activated Telo a few days ago.

After activation and setup Telo worked for about half an hour and then drops dead. By drop dead I mean is unresponsive. The logo light turns off and only the 1 & 2 light are on. Only way to correct is to unplug and repower Telo unit. Unfortunately it only lasts for about 15 minutes. Contacted CS, but no answers as of yet.

We're running with Verizon Fios 15/5 with a Westell 9100EM router. A 5.8GHz analog cordless plugged to Telo and no connection to wall plug. Running the computer off the wireless trying to minimize issues.

Tried a Telo factory reset but it didn't change anything and also tried repowering both FIOS router and Telo to no avail.

I'm hoping for any suggestions on the Telo settings.

Thanks!

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by thunderbird » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:02 pm

jahook wrote:Thanks for any help upfront. New user and recently activated Telo a few days ago.

After activation and setup Telo worked for about half an hour and then drops dead. By drop dead I mean is unresponsive. The logo light turns off and only the 1 & 2 light are on. Only way to correct is to unplug and repower Telo unit. Unfortunately it only lasts for about 15 minutes. Contacted CS, but no answers as of yet.

We're running with Verizon Fios 15/5 with a Westell 9100EM router. A 5.8GHz analog cordless plugged to Telo and no connection to wall plug. Running the computer off the wireless trying to minimize issues.

Tried a Telo factory reset but it didn't change anything and also tried repowering both FIOS router and Telo to no avail.

I'm hoping for any suggestions on the Telo settings.

Thanks!
It sounds like the Ooma Telo is defective. If the Ooma Telo is within the one year warranty period, Ooms should send you a replacement, shipping prepaid, along with a prepaid shipping label to ship the defective Ooma Telo back.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by lbmofo » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:03 pm

If you want, you can try the "Built in Modem Port MAC Address" setting here: viewtopic.php?t=12403
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jahook
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by jahook » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:33 pm

Thanks for the help both of you. No luck with altering the Modem Port MAC Address. I'll give CS a ring in the morning. Bought the box through Costco. Would it be just faster/easier to return it and pick up anther one?

Thanks again

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by lbmofo » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:38 pm

I think so. That maybe the most convenient but I am suspecting your FIOS equipment because of the timing. Consistently 15/30 min cut off. Do you have someone close by with broadband other then FIOS to try your Ooma on?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma Telo no logo light

Post by thunderbird » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:55 am

jahook wrote:Thanks for the help both of you. No luck with altering the Modem Port MAC Address. I'll give CS a ring in the morning. Bought the box through Costco. Would it be just faster/easier to return it and pick up anther one?

Thanks again
After you get your replacement Ooma Telo from Costco, you have to call Ooma Customer Service to add the replacement Ooama Telo MAC address to your account for activation of your replacement device.

Customer Support
Email: support@oomacare.com
Phone: 1-888-711-OOMA (6662)
Monday-Friday 7am-7pm PST
Saturday-Sunday 8am-5pm PST

Post Reply