Switching my Second number to become the Primary number

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
psmsmallengines
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:11 pm

Switching my Second number to become the Primary number

Post by psmsmallengines » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:27 pm

I was an Ooma Customer. I will be coming back to Ooma soon. I have two numbers with my current provider, Each number has it's own ring. The last number I added to the account is NOT THE PRIMARY number. If I were to Port away the PRIMARY number, I would Lose the second number..Of which I do not want to do. So, If I port away the second number, then all is well, BUT if I bring over the primary number to Ooma, it will be the Second number on my Ooma account. I would want it to be my primary number. Is there a way for Ooma to switch the numbers around once they are both ported to Ooma? I hope I did not confuse anybody with that long diatribe. Thanks! :)

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Switching my Second number to become the Primary number

Post by murphy » Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:15 am

Get a temporary number when you activate the new Ooma.
Port your second number to Ooma and tell Ooma Customer Support that you want it to be the second number on your Ooma.
Port your first number to Ooma and tell Customer Support that you want it to replace the primary temporary number.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

psmsmallengines
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Switching my Second number to become the Primary number

Post by psmsmallengines » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:48 am

Thanks, I appreciate the info!

Post Reply