Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:24 pm

Is there a way to shut off the DHCP server on the Ooma-telo? I want the telo to be accessible on the lan side of my network and I do not want it serving IP Addresses. When I attempt to configure it with no DHCP pool it rejects the configuration.

Basically I have two Vlans set up with the WAN port connected to the 192.168.2.x subnet (Vlan 10) and I want the LAN port connected to 192.168.1.x (Vlan 5). Vlan 10 is non-routed vlan, it just uses PAT to go to the outside world for voice only. Vlan 5 is my data network and is routed. I currently also use it for device management.

TIA.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by murphy » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:36 pm

FX4 wrote:Is there a way to shut off the DHCP server on the Ooma-telo? I want the telo to be accessible on the lan side of my network and I do not want it serving IP Addresses. When I attempt to configure it with no DHCP pool it rejects the configuration.

Basically I have two Vlans set up with the WAN port connected to the 192.168.2.x subnet (Vlan 10) and I want the LAN port connected to 192.168.1.x (Vlan 5). Vlan 10 is non-routed vlan, it just uses PAT to go to the outside world for voice only. Vlan 5 is my data network and is routed. I currently also use it for device management.

TIA.
It can't be shut off.
Put the Telo after your router and don't connect anything to it's home port and it won' matter.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:02 pm

duplicate post
Last edited by FX4 on Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:06 pm

No can do, Ooma has to be behind the router. I'm running VPNs, VNC, and DynDNS, as well as a bunch of other QoS traffic parameters for other things.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by murphy » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:12 pm

FX4 wrote:No can do, Ooma has to be behind the router. I'm running VPNs, VNC, and DynDNS, as well as a bunch of other QoS traffic parameters for other things.
I'm confused . After the router and behind the router are the same thing.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:17 pm

No behind the router is the lan side, after the router is the wan side.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by thunderbird » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm

FX4 wrote:No behind the router is the lan side, after the router is the wan side.
Connect the Ooma device's Internet port to one of the Router LAN ports. Connect nothing to the Ooma device's Home port, except temporarily a computer when accessing Ooma Setup to make adjustments.

Using the Router as a reference, the WAN Internet signal coming from the Modem is connected to the WAN side of the Router, which is said to be before the router. Usually this is the yellow modem port to the yellow router port. The LAN side of the router is said to be behind or after the router.

FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:59 pm

Yeah I understand all this. My goal was to be able to manage Ooma and check it's status without having to plug a laptop into it's lan port. Just put it on my network. I guess it can't be done unless I create a private Vlan for the lan port then route to it.

FX4
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:14 am

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by FX4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:10 pm

I just thought of a better way to do it. Put an ACL on the switch port blocking DHCP requests inbound.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Shut off Ooma-Tello DHCP Server

Post by murphy » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:14 pm

FX4 wrote:Yeah I understand all this. My goal was to be able to manage Ooma and check it's status without having to plug a laptop into it's lan port. Just put it on my network. I guess it can't be done unless I create a private Vlan for the lan port then route to it.
Forward port 80 in the Telo to 172.27.35.1.
You can then connect to the Telo setup pages by connecting to the IP address that was assigned to the Telo's WAN interface.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply