Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#85430 by wahmie
Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:29 am
My Comcast service has been up and down, so I decided - for business purposes - to add Clear Wireless 4G to the mix using the CIsco RV046 dual WAN router. I also have a 16 port Netgear switch. I have wired and wireless pc's. No Mac's and no Wireless Access Point.

I'm not a techie, but I can work my way through configurations. I'm on day two now after trying many configs.

I can connect OOMA and wired and wireless pc's successfully using the following configs:

Either Modem (with DMZ gaming and static IP's for the OOMA; and Modem is the DCHP SERVER> Switch > OOMA. All devices obtain IP from the DCHP Server. I had to make the Modems the DCHP Servers in order to use the wireless devices. This is my current config as I am back to square one using only 1 modem.

How should I configure the modems, RV046 and OOMA so that my pc's running through the switch have dual wan support?
Also, in such a way that the wireless devices will successfully connect to the existing network for file/print sharing.
#85434 by murphy
Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:53 am
Connect each modem to a WAN port on the Cisco.
Connect the Ooma Internet port to a LAN port on the Cisco.
Don't connect anything to the Home port on the Ooma.
#85441 by wahmie
Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:14 am
murphy wrote:Connect each modem to a WAN port on the Cisco.
Connect the Ooma Internet port to a LAN port on the Cisco.
Don't connect anything to the Home port on the Ooma.

I tried that. Ooma could not connect to the internet nor the ooma tunnel.
I tried multiple DCHP Settings for the Cisco

- DCHP from Modem; Cisco Relays DCHP from modem to devices. Ooma gets no internet, no connection to the tunnel

- Modem - disable NAT; added Cisco as NAT Passthrough Device on the modem; Cisco set as DCHP Server; All devices had static ip's running through cisco gateway; Ooma had internet but no connection to the tunnel.
#85450 by thunderbird