Use with a Home Web Server

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
kenweise
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:59 pm

Use with a Home Web Server

Post by kenweise » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:04 pm

I have a home mail server with a web portal. Naturally, Port 80 goes directly to it.

To get my hub working and keep my web server accessible, I put the hub after my router. Though my web server and hub both work, I can now only access the hub with a pc plugged directly into it.

Is there a way to get them both to play nice on the network and make the hub accessible from the outside world? Can I assign an alternative port to the ooma hub?

Thanks,
Ken Weise

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Use with a Home Web Server

Post by murphy » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:12 pm

Create a forwarding rule in the Ooma with the first port set at whatever port you want, I'll use 99 for the example.
Set the forward to IP address to 172.27.35.1
Set the forward to port to 80.

Connect to the IP address that your router assigns to the Ooma.

http://x.x.x.x:99
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

kenweise
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Use with a Home Web Server

Post by kenweise » Sat Jul 16, 2011 6:11 am

murphy wrote:Create a forwarding rule in the Ooma with the first port set at whatever port you want, I'll use 99 for the example.
Set the forward to IP address to 172.27.35.1
Set the forward to port to 80.

Connect to the IP address that your router assigns to the Ooma.

http://x.x.x.x:99
That is sort of what I'd like to do. To keep my web server working, I hooked the Ooma box up behind my wireless router, but it won't allow forwarding to 172.xxx as it's base addresses are 192.xxx and will only allow the last three digits to be entered.

How would I do this if I put the Ooma box first? It intercepts all port 80 traffic.

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Use with a Home Web Server

Post by murphy » Sat Jul 16, 2011 6:16 am

If Ooma is behind your router the Ooma Home port should be empty and all forwarding is done in the router just as if Ooma didn't exist.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply