Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:14 am

My wife and I both like to use headsets when we talk. I've got the 2nd line feature working with the Telo handset fine, but as has been mentioned here before, the handset doesn't have a plug for a headset.

On "line 1" we can use a headset with our regular cordless phones, but I can't figure out a way to use a headset for "line 2".

Is there maybe a way to use the bluetooth on the Telo as "line 1" and then the phone plug on the back as "line 2" for use with the regular cordless phone?

Is there any way around this?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jun 13, 2011 12:28 pm

Santa wrote:My wife and I both like to use headsets when we talk. I've got the 2nd line feature working with the Telo handset fine, but as has been mentioned here before, the handset doesn't have a plug for a headset.

On "line 1" we can use a headset with our regular cordless phones, but I can't figure out a way to use a headset for "line 2".

Is there maybe a way to use the bluetooth on the Telo as "line 1" and then the phone plug on the back as "line 2" for use with the regular cordless phone?

Is there any way around this?
I wonder if something like this would work? You can Flash from Line to Line.

http://headsetplus.com/PDF/CT14-userguide.pdf

http://www.amazon.com/Plantronics-Cordl ... B001GX6MJ8

Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:32 pm

thunderbird wrote:
Santa wrote:My wife and I both like to use headsets when we talk. I've got the 2nd line feature working with the Telo handset fine, but as has been mentioned here before, the handset doesn't have a plug for a headset.

On "line 1" we can use a headset with our regular cordless phones, but I can't figure out a way to use a headset for "line 2".

Is there maybe a way to use the bluetooth on the Telo as "line 1" and then the phone plug on the back as "line 2" for use with the regular cordless phone?

Is there any way around this?
I wonder if something like this would work? You can Flash from Line to Line.

http://headsetplus.com/PDF/CT14-userguide.pdf

http://www.amazon.com/Plantronics-Cordl ... B001GX6MJ8
I don't think this would work. It's not getting a headset plugged into the telo. It's figuring how to get a headset plugged into the telo, and a second headset plugged into either the telo or telo handset, so two different people can be on two separate calls, and both be able to use a headset.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:40 pm

Santa wrote:
thunderbird wrote:
Santa wrote:My wife and I both like to use headsets when we talk. I've got the 2nd line feature working with the Telo handset fine, but as has been mentioned here before, the handset doesn't have a plug for a headset.

On "line 1" we can use a headset with our regular cordless phones, but I can't figure out a way to use a headset for "line 2".

Is there maybe a way to use the bluetooth on the Telo as "line 1" and then the phone plug on the back as "line 2" for use with the regular cordless phone?

Is there any way around this?
I wonder if something like this would work? You can Flash from Line to Line.

http://headsetplus.com/PDF/CT14-userguide.pdf

http://www.amazon.com/Plantronics-Cordl ... B001GX6MJ8
I don't think this would work. It's not getting a headset plugged into the telo. It's figuring how to get a headset plugged into the telo, and a second headset plugged into either the telo or telo handset, so two different people can be on two separate calls, and both be able to use a headset.
Just an idea:
You could connect the base of the Plantronics-Cordless-Headset-Phone, or two of these phones into the Ooma device's Phone port, using a regular phone cord. If using two of these devices, you use a phone line splitter to direct the phone line signal to each phone.

Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:57 pm

thunderbird wrote: Just an idea:
You could connect the base of the Plantronics-Cordless-Headset-Phone, or two of these phones into the Ooma device's Phone port, using a regular phone cord. If using two of these devices, you use a phone line splitter to direct the phone line signal to each phone.
From what I've read, all the phones plugged into the back of the Telo: splitter or wall distribution, they all have to be on the same call.

That's why I was wondering if the bluetooth could be on a different call than the phone jack in the back of the Telo.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:35 pm

Santa:
You are right. I just tested Ooma Telo on our home with two phones and when I went on the line with the second phone and flashd the second phone, line 1 was dropped.

Maybe someone else has a solution.

It would be great if Ooma would make a firmware change to allow that function.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11686&p=81864&hilit ... nes#p81864

The other thing that you could do is to purchase another Ooma Telo, and only use basic service for each.

Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:07 am

Bummer.

Thanks for checking.

I'll think about a second Telo. That's a lot more than I was thinking of spending though.

Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:23 pm

Anybody have bluetooth who can check this out?

Santa
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:00 pm

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Santa » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:14 am

Santa wrote:Anybody have bluetooth who can check this out?
Anybody? I've got to send bach the Telo this weekend if I can't figure this out.

Thanks

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Two lines? Yes. Two headsets?

Post by Bobby B » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:41 pm

Yes, the Bluetooth can be on separate call. For example, if you have a currently have a call on the phone connected to the PHONE port, you can take the Telo Handset and initiate a call on the 2nd line using the Bluetooth Headset by dialing *15 followed by the phone number.
Santa wrote: That's why I was wondering if the bluetooth could be on a different call than the phone jack in the back of the Telo.
Bobby B

Post Reply