Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#82023 by bdiaz
Mon May 23, 2011 7:28 pm
New here and have questions. I am new to this kind of thing.

Earlier when I was looking into Ooma porting my number was a big issue. I contacted customer support. They said that they would just give me a temp number until the port was active. When installing tonight customer support told me to select the option to integrate with my existing landline. Now reading the instructions it says I need to plug Ooma into the wall.

I have Qwest DSL (router/modem combo) which is the same as my phone line. The jack is in another room. The phone cord goes out of the office wall under our stairway which is storage and to the phone jack in the next room.

Now that I selected integration, does my Ooma have to be plugged into the wall? If so do I use a splitter or something since it is where I get my DSL? What kind of setup is needed after the port as I will be cancelling phone service and keeping DSL through Qwest? I want to get this setup and be assured that everything is good before I ask for a port.

Thanks for your help.

Edit:
Ok, reading these forums further. Is it possible to take the integration off and just use the assigned number until the port is active? If so, that would be easier for me.
#82027 by Givmeabrek
Mon May 23, 2011 8:12 pm
Forget landline integration. The new Telo's don't even have that option. If possible forward your quest number to your new temp number. Plug your existing quest phone line into your Telo phone port. Don't use the wall port. Your phones should work now. Be sure your DSL isn't canceled when your phone number ports.
#82030 by lbmofo
Mon May 23, 2011 8:28 pm
Givmeabrek wrote:Plug your existing quest phone line into your Telo phone port. Don't use the wall port. Your phones should work now. Be sure your DSL isn't canceled when your phone number ports.

I am sure Givmeabrek meant "plug your phone into Telo phone port."