Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
MrBaz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:53 am

Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by MrBaz » Thu May 12, 2011 11:54 am

I purchased the Ooma telo and a vtech DECT 6.0 handset. I was under the impression any DECT 6.0 technology device should be able to pair with any other DECT base station.

Is it possible to pair my VTech handset to the Ooma without purchasing the whole VTech base station?

User avatar
tomcat
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by tomcat » Thu May 12, 2011 11:58 am

MrBaz wrote:I purchased the Ooma telo and a vtech DECT 6.0 handset. I was under the impression any DECT 6.0 technology device should be able to pair with any other DECT base station.

Is it possible to pair my VTech handset to the Ooma without purchasing the whole VTech base station?
No, you can only pair the telo handset with the telo base. You would have to have the VTech base for the VTech phone.

MrBaz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by MrBaz » Thu May 12, 2011 12:17 pm

Disappointing. They SHOULD have designed the telo to pair with any other DECT system (just like EVERY OTHER DECT phone system can pair with ANY other brand handset).
I guess it is off to purchase the base station.

User avatar
tomcat
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by tomcat » Thu May 12, 2011 12:37 pm

Interesting. I didn't know you could pair different brands together.

MrBaz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by MrBaz » Thu May 12, 2011 12:56 pm

That was one of the main points of the DECT technology. It is an industry standard. The old 2.4GHz and 5.8GHz systems were NOT a standard, so getting different brand handsets other than your base station led to problems.

With the DECT technology, you can use a VTech handset with, say, a Panasonic base station.

I've already ordered the base station.

I just wish Ooma would straight up TELL YOU either on the website advertising or on the instructions, that you can only pair a Ooma handset directly with the telo. This would really lessen the amount of questions people have.

Since Ooma can't seem to make a quality handset, they should realise people are deliberately using other base stations in order to use a better quality handset.

Live and learn I guess.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by lbmofo » Thu May 12, 2011 1:11 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generic_access_profile

Have you tried pairing your Vtech to Panasonic? I've never tried.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by ajw522 » Thu May 12, 2011 2:12 pm

lbmofo wrote:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generic_access_profile

Have you tried pairing your Vtech to Panasonic? I've never tried.
I've never known that to be possible. It would be neat to have an Ooma Forum user try it out and report their results.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by nn5i » Thu May 12, 2011 3:33 pm

MrBaz wrote:That was one of the main points of the DECT technology. It is an industry standard.
Sort of. Interoperability is indeed an optional part of the DECT standard, and perhaps of the DECT 6.0 standard too, which is a separate thing from DECT. Whether it is a main point is a matter of interpretation; but GAM, the part of the DECT standard that describes interoperability, applies, in any case, only to the very basic functions of initiating and terminating a call. No other features are described, and it is perhaps doubtful, certainly not required or guaranteed, that other features are interoperable between any different-brand assemblages of equipment.

One thing you can depend on, though: no DECT device will interoperate with any DECT 6.0 device. Ever.

MrBaz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by MrBaz » Fri May 13, 2011 4:52 pm

nn5i wrote:
MrBaz wrote:That was one of the main points of the DECT technology. It is an industry standard.
Sort of. Interoperability is indeed an optional part of the DECT standard, and perhaps of the DECT 6.0 standard too, which is a separate thing from DECT. Whether it is a main point is a matter of interpretation; but GAM, the part of the DECT standard that describes interoperability, applies, in any case, only to the very basic functions of initiating and terminating a call. No other features are described, and it is perhaps doubtful, certainly not required or guaranteed, that other features are interoperable between any different-brand assemblages of equipment.

One thing you can depend on, though: no DECT device will interoperate with any DECT 6.0 device. Ever.

That is completely false. I personally know of an individual who had a Panasonic base station and had the batteries eventually die on one of their handsets. He purchased a VTech handset and paired it to the Panasonic base.

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Ooma Telo w/ VTech DECT 6.0 handset?

Post by nn5i » Fri May 13, 2011 5:06 pm

MrBaz wrote:
nn5i wrote:
MrBaz wrote:That was one of the main points of the DECT technology. It is an industry standard.
Sort of. Interoperability is indeed an optional part of the DECT standard, and perhaps of the DECT 6.0 standard too, which is a separate thing from DECT. Whether it is a main point is a matter of interpretation; but GAM, the part of the DECT standard that describes interoperability, applies, in any case, only to the very basic functions of initiating and terminating a call. No other features are described, and it is perhaps doubtful, certainly not required or guaranteed, that other features are interoperable between any different-brand assemblages of equipment.

One thing you can depend on, though: no DECT device will interoperate with any DECT 6.0 device. Ever.

That is completely false. I personally know of an individual who had a Panasonic base station and had the batteries eventually die on one of their handsets. He purchased a VTech handset and paired it to the Panasonic base.
And they were both DECT 6.0 devices, not DECT. DECT 6.0 is used in North America, and DECT just about everywhere else.

Post Reply