Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
KCChiefs
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:49 am

Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by KCChiefs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:47 am

I have the Ooma Hub and the Scout. My Scout has quit working when it previously had. It shows the last row lit up. I've searched the forums for some trouble shooting put still having issues. I plugged the Hub and Scout together directly from the wall-to-wall connections to eliminate home wiring. I also did a system reset, by holding down the Ooma tab while it was booting up, and still showing the bottom row lit up. I'm at a loss, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by murphy » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:47 am

Make sure that none of the buttons are stuck in the depressed state.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ntoy

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by ntoy » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:53 am

Hello,

With the wall2wall test & trying a different phone wire as well may indicate something has failed on the scout.

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by hpepper » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:13 am

You could get one on E-Bay HERE IS ONE

Of course there are always some available on E-Bay

KCChiefs
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:49 am

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by KCChiefs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:55 am

Thanks guys. I've tried those items and still doesn't work. I figured it might have to be replaced. Ebay was my next option.

Schwulmon
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by Schwulmon » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:24 pm

It may not be the Scout, but rather the Hub. This happened to me about a year ago after a thunder storm went through my area. The bottom row of lights stayed on. I contacted customer service and after sending them several pictures of my setup, they sent out a new hub. Long story short, the Scout worked fine after the Hub was replaced.

KCChiefs
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:49 am

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by KCChiefs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:40 pm

Guess there probably isn't a way to know if its the Hub or the Scout for sure then? I'd had to buy a Scout and it still not work.

Schwulmon
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by Schwulmon » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:44 pm

I would still contact customer service. After they saw my emailed pictures of what the lights looked like on both the hub and the scout, they were able to make the determination that it was the hub.

KCChiefs
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:49 am

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by KCChiefs » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:52 pm

So did you have red lights on your Hub as well? My Hub works just fine w/ no red lights lit up unless I have a message or line open. The Scout is the only one that has the lights lit up on the bottom row.

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Scout Stopped Working

Post by murphy » Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:03 pm

The four bottom lights lit on a scout means that it can't communicate with the hub.
Check the wall jack on the hub and the scout to verify that the 4 wires are parallel to each other and not bent out of position and that there is no foreign matter in the jack. Compare with the phone jack. They should look exactly the same.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply