Caller ID Display on TV

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
RickPhil
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:54 am

Caller ID Display on TV

Post by RickPhil » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:02 am

My TV will display caller ID info if it's connected to the phone line. How can I connect my Telo to the TV?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Caller ID Display on TV

Post by lbmofo » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:34 am

If your TV is close enough to your Ooma, then you can use one of these duplex splitters to have your phone and TV share your Ooma dialtone:

Image

If not, you'd need to distribute Ooma dialtone throughout the house; disconnect your house wiring from the telephone company at the NIB first.

If your NIB looks like this, just unplug the modular plug.
viewtopic.php?t=10553#p73176

More info:
viewtopic.php?t=6853
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Caller ID Display on TV

Post by thunderbird » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:09 am

RickPhil
Added comment:
Is it the TV that you plug the phone line into or is it the Dish TV, Direct TV or other entertainment provider's box?
My Dish converter box has the phone jack on it, then I had to go into the setting pages and add *99 to in front of the phone number, then I have to tell the Dish box to display the phone number on the TV, for it work correctly with the Ooma device.
Last edited by thunderbird on Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: Caller ID Display on TV

Post by Leeway » Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:04 am

lbmofo wrote:If your TV is close enough to your Ooma, then you can use one of these duplex splitters to have your phone and TV share your Ooma dialtone:
That's interesting, I did not know it could be done. Is there a page to see the directions/possibilities?

Can it be done with a Media PC that I have connected to Road Runner? The Media PC has a phone connection also and it is right here by my Telo.

Donna

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Caller ID Display on TV

Post by lbmofo » Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:10 am

I haven't done it with Media PC but from searching the net, people do that as well.

http://books.google.com/books?id=4lC9ya ... ge&f=false

I just plug in Ooma dialtone to Dish Receiver, turn on callerid; easy for me.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

RickPhil
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:54 am

Re: Caller ID Display on TV

Post by RickPhil » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:47 am

Thanks for the responses. The transfer of my existing phone number is to take place tomorrow at which time I'll disconnect from ATT and plug Ooma in to my house wiring.

FYI the porting was submitted on 4/14; eight days isn't too bad.

Post Reply