Moving to another state

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
vrunda
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:56 am

Moving to another state

Post by vrunda » Tue Apr 12, 2011 11:27 am

Hi all,

I've everything installed and working perfectly. But I may have to move out of state soon. I won't be getting a land line there. How do I go about getting Ooma working at the new place?

Thanks

ntoy

Re: Moving to another state

Post by ntoy » Tue Apr 12, 2011 11:31 am

Hello,

Once you settle in your new place, you can log into My Ooma to update your new service address.
Then call our support folks to find a number for you.

vrunda
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:56 am

Re: Moving to another state

Post by vrunda » Tue Apr 12, 2011 11:38 am

Awesome.

Thanks.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Moving to another state

Post by lbmofo » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:23 pm

If you have Premier and only have 1 number, then you can assign a 2nd number yourself on my.ooma.com.

Otherwise, call into CS to change your number. Will cost you one time fee of $19.99. https://www.ooma.com/legal/rates
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Moving to another state

Post by thunderbird » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:32 pm

vrunda wrote:Hi all,

I've everything installed and working perfectly. But I may have to move out of state soon. I won't be getting a land line there. How do I go about getting Ooma working at the new place?

Thanks
One thing to think about if you continue to use Ooma Premier, and you have friends and family living in the old state, that call you often in the state that you are living in right now.

After you move and update your My Ooma etc., you could keep one of you phone numbers from the old state that you are living in right now, and change the other number to the new state area code where you will be living.

That way all of your friends and family from your old state can call the old state number and it will be a local call for them, with no long distance phone charges for them.

vrunda
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:56 am

Re: Moving to another state

Post by vrunda » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:12 am

Thank you for all the comments. I don't use Premier.

Do I have to surrender my current number, if so, how do I do that? If not, can I just pack up my things and go to the new State? I will be returning the rented modem back to the cable company, and get a new one at my new place. Am I missing anything?

Thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Moving to another state

Post by lbmofo » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:16 am

If you want, you can keep your current number with your Ooma, plug it into broadband at your new location and everything would work as before.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Moving to another state

Post by murphy » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:44 am

vrunda wrote:Thank you for all the comments. I don't use Premier.

Do I have to surrender my current number, if so, how do I do that? If not, can I just pack up my things and go to the new State? I will be returning the rented modem back to the cable company, and get a new one at my new place. Am I missing anything?

Thanks
Update your E911 address to the new location.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply