Scout and phone line plugged in the same outlet?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Mike1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:16 pm

Scout and phone line plugged in the same outlet?

Post by Mike1 » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:24 pm

Installation question here hopefully someone can answer. I do not like the idea that you need a scout to plug in additional phones. But I do like the idea that you can check your voicemail from the scout This is really a key selling point.

I have had VOIP for 5 years with Packet8 and I plugged the modem into my house so that every phone in the house worked. Now I know you can also do this with the OOMA hub. But my question is Can I combine the phone line and the ooma scout port with a splitter and run them both through my house wirring? This way every phone in the house works and I would be able to check my email from a different room. Is this possible. I'm an engineer and I have a lot of people (In my group) that are interested at a company with 100k employees. Not that I can get everyone signed up but a success in the engineering world word usually spreads fast.

Thanks!!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Scout and phone line plugged in the same outlet?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:25 pm

According to past posts in this forum many people do that successfully.

Wayne

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Scout and phone line plugged in the same outlet?

Post by bw1 » Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:52 pm

See this thread:
http://forums.ooma.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... =a&start=0

There are other threads on this subject too, if you want to search for them.

Post Reply