ooma behind a linksys router

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
raydude
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:24 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by raydude » Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:39 am

WayneDsr wrote:UDP 1194
UDP 3480
UDP 514
UDP 49000-50000
TCP 443

Wayne
Thanks much Wayne!

Do I need to power cycle the Ooma box after I open the ports?

Brian

lohertz
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Far West Burbs, Chicago

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by lohertz » Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:20 pm

It wouldn't hurt, but I wouldn't think so. You may have to cycle your router, but most due that when you save the configuration settings.

thively
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:47 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by thively » Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:54 pm

Does it really help anything to set up port forwarding?
I could do this if it actually helps the Ooma core. But it seems like it just opens a VPN on SSL 443 and keeps it open.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:04 pm

I only set up ports to control QOS and give those ports HIGHEST priority. If you don't have that availability I don't see why you would need to if all works fine.

Wayne

lohertz
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Far West Burbs, Chicago

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by lohertz » Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:21 pm

I set the QoS priority by MAC/IP address rather than ports. Generally I have specific devices that I want to prioritizes, ie ooma ftp server, etc

granted I only use 21 for ftp, but its easier to maintain where things are going

raydude
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:24 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by raydude » Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:49 pm

Port 443 is normally https and is used on my server for https.

What the heck does ooma use it for and can I not forward it?

I don't mind forwarding the UDP ports but I can't give up 443, my web server needs it.

Brian

koehn
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:57 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by koehn » Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:00 pm

raydude wrote:Port 443 is normally https and is used on my server for https.

What the heck does ooma use it for and can I not forward it?

I don't mind forwarding the UDP ports but I can't give up 443, my web server needs it.

Brian
The Ooma doesn't need any inbound ports mapped to it. It only connects outbound.

raydude
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:24 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by raydude » Tue Mar 31, 2009 7:37 am

koehn wrote:
raydude wrote:Port 443 is normally https and is used on my server for https.

What the heck does ooma use it for and can I not forward it?

I don't mind forwarding the UDP ports but I can't give up 443, my web server needs it.

Brian
The Ooma doesn't need any inbound ports mapped to it. It only connects outbound.
If it doesn't use any inbound port then why did Wayne list all those ports?

Cognitive dissonance! Oh noes!

LOL

Can someone straighten me out?

Bri

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by WayneDsr » Tue Mar 31, 2009 7:48 am

I listed outgoing ports that ooma uses.

Wayne

raydude
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:24 am

Re: ooma behind a linksys router

Post by raydude » Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:02 am

WayneDsr wrote:I listed outgoing ports that ooma uses.

Wayne
Oh. Thanks. I'll close those inbound ports.

Bri

Post Reply