Porting of Existing Number

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jekoenig
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:38 pm

Porting of Existing Number

Post by jekoenig » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:41 pm

Hello - I am porting my phone number from Vonage over to Ooma. Right now I have my Vonage box going through my Ooma - and would like to stop doing that. lol

How long does it take to port the number and how will I know it has been completed? I will then cancel my Vonage account.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Porting of Existing Number

Post by lbmofo » Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:03 pm

Ooma says 3 to 4 weeks but some ports happen faster. Record so far is 8 days from AT&T landline I think.

You can look up your porting status here: https://my.ooma.com/porting_status
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Porting of Existing Number

Post by Davesworld » Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:38 am

The length and trouble of the porting process is totally dependent on how the losing provider handles it. All Ooma can do is submit it on your behalf.

Post Reply